Traffic Ticket Attorneys - Connect with TicketVoid
Find Traffic Ticket Lawyers!
- Enter your DUI or traffic ticket information into Ticket Void websitte in a quick step-by-step process.
- Ticket Void matches your DUI or traffic ticket information for FREE with qualified DUI and traffic ticket lawyers in the State/County of the offence.
- A DUI or traffic lawyer within the Ticket Void network will contact you.
New York Department of Motor Vehicle Point System
Violating New York driving and traffic laws can result in fines, suspension of your driving privileges, and even imprisonment. The New York State Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) uses a point system to track violations and their corresponding penalties. Points are added to your driving record if you receive a traffic ticket for moving violations.
MOVING VIOLATIONS AND POINTS
Different violations are assigned different point values, which are added to your driving record. For instance, moving violations like failure to observe traffic signals, changing lanes unsafely and failure to yield at an intersection carry three points each. Five-point offenses include reckless driving and failing to stop for a school bus. The number of points assessed for different speeding violations are as follows:
Exceeding the maximum speed limit by 1-10 mph:3 points
Exceeding the maximum speed limit by 11-20 mph:4 points
Exceeding the maximum speed limit by 21-30 mph: 6 points
Exceeding the maximum speed limit by 30-40 mph: 8 points
Exceeding the maximum speed limit by more than 40 mph:11 points
View the complete Point Schedule to learn about the number of points associated with each type of moving violation.
You will be subject to specific penalties if you accumulate a certain number of points on your driving license:
- You will be assessed an annual driver responsibility fee of $100 for 3 years if you accumulate more than 6 points within 18 months, are convicted of drug or alcohol related traffic offence, or have refused a chemical test.
- In case you accumulate more than 11 points in an 18 month period, the DMV will intimate you and suspend your license.
- Insurance companies might also have a point system based on your driving violations. However, the two points systems are not related. Accumulating points on your driving license is also likely to increase your auto insurance rates. See our auto insurance section for more information about obtaining quality car insurance at competitive rates.
HOW TO CLEAR YOUR DRIVING RECORD
The New York State DMV maintains a record of all the points added to your driving license. However, there are a number of ways in which you can remove points from your current driving record.
- Taking a DMV approved accident prevention course would reduce your driver violation points by up to 4 points. However taking this course cannot prevent a revocation or mandatory suspension. It also has no impact on the driver responsibility assessment nor can it be applicable to future driving violations.
- To terminate a suspension, a fee of $35 may be paid either online or in person.
- A license that has been revoked may be got back by appearing in person at the local DMV and paying $50.
- More details can be found here.
HOW TO DISPUTE A MOVING VIOLATION CHARGE
You cannot request a hearing to prove that you are not guilty or for a waiver of suspension. The only reason to request a hearing could be a case of mistaken identity. See Traffic Tickets and Traffic Ticket Attorneys for more information.