Minnesota defensive driving courses provide information on traffic laws, defensive driving techniques, alcohol awareness and more. Residents may take a driver improvement class at a state-approved traffic school to reinstate driving privileges, improve their driving skills, or earn a car insurance discount. For more information regarding Minnesota defensive driving, click here.

Drivers education in Minnesota is required by the Department of Public Safety (DPS) for first-time drivers who are at least 15 years of age. A first-time driver must enroll in a state-approved drivers ed course when they turn 16 years of age to be eligible to receive a learner’s permit. For more information regarding Minnesota drivers ed courses, click here.

Minnesota Drivers Education

Minnesota teen drivers are required to meet certain requirements before obtaining an MN driver’s license.

Drivers who are 15 years of age are required to complete a driver education course approved by the Department of Public Safety in Minnesota. Drivers will have to fulfill a total of 30 hours of classroom instruction, as well as a behind-the-wheel driving experience in order to complete MN drivers ed.

To learn more about drivers ed courses offered in MN, click here.

Minnesota Defensive Driving

The Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) requires drivers to complete a state-approved defensive driving course for the following reasons:

  • Court order requirement.
  • DMV order requirement.
  • To reinstate a driver’s license.
  • To receive a car insurance discount.
  • For voluntary/personal education.

If you enroll in a driver improvement course, it may be with a duration of four to eight hours. Defensive driving courses in MN are available in various locations throughout the state of Minnesota. Drivers who prefer to stay home can enroll in a traffic school online.

Traffic school programs are offered all across the country, in each and every state. To find out what courses your state offers, click here.

Last updated on Thursday, December 21 2017.