DMV.com - your advisor for Oklahoma DMV issues (not from Oklahoma? Select another state)

Compare Auto Insurance Rates and Save - DMV.com Exclusive

How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Oklahoma

You can apply for a motorcycle permit and license at any DPS license exam centre in Oklahoma. In order to apply for a motorcycle license you must first apply for a learner permit. You may apply for a permit at the age of 15 ½ if you have completed an approved driver education program. Otherwise, the minimum age is 16. Contact a DPS office for programs nearest you.

New Applicants

Listed below are the requirements to obtain a learner's permit if you have completed the driver education program.

  1. Complete application form - original must be submitted in person; no photocopies.
  2. Pass the vision test.
  3. Submit acceptable proof of identity.
  4. Pass the signs and traffic laws examination. See practice tests for more information on the written exam.

Learner's Permit

Once you complete the aforementioned prerequisites, you will be given an instruction permit. This permit will allow you to practice driving a motorcycle.

Learner's Permit Restrictions

You must drive at all times while accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years old.

Applying for a Motorcycle License

After holding your permit for 6 months, you are eligible to apply for your license. When applying for your license, you must:
  1. Make an appointment with any DPS license exam centre.
  2. Pass the on-road examination.
  3. Pass the vision test.

Fees

The application and license fees are $4 and $21.50 respectively. For an endorsement on an existing license, only the application fee is applicable. If the application expires, some steps to acquiring the permit or license may have to be repeated.

Additional Information

 

Auto Insurance Comparison

by DMV.com
Find the Best Rates
and save money