If you are involved in an accident or collision in Texas, you must be prepared to act responsibly and in accordance with State law. Following are some general guidelines and more specific requirements to follow in case of an accident.


As a responsible driver, you must never leave the scene of an accident. Not only is it essential that you provide any necessary help immediately following an accident, but leaving an accident scene can result in having your driving privileges revoked or your license suspended.

After stopping your vehicle, you should pull up as close to the accident as safely possible, without obstructing traffic. Take a moment to assess the situation, and do not panic. Be aware of the traffic situation, and any other potential dangers, such as fire.

You should do your best to provide immediate assistance to other motorists, passengers or pedestrians that may have been injured in the accident.

Take extra care when attempting to move an injured person; if possible, wait for an ambulance to arrive. Notify 911 to report any injuries and call for medical assistance. Also inform the local Texas police, sheriff or highway patrol, especially if the accident resulted in fatalities, injuries or property damage.

If you have been injured in a car accident, it is important to stay calm. If possible, ensure that you are out of danger and not blocking any oncoming traffic. Call or wait for help, and do not attempt to move if you are unable to do so.


If you are involved in an accident in Texas, you are required to provide certain information to the other parties involved. Likewise, fellow motorists, passengers or pedestrians involved in the accident must share similar information with you.

Also, it is often wise to ask for the information of witnesses to the accident just in case you need to have them testify at a later date. The key information to exchange in the aftermath of an accident includes:

  1. Name, address and contact details
  2. Driver license number
  3. License plate number of the vehicles involved
  4. Auto insurance information for the motorists involved.

It may also be useful to take photographs at the scene of the accident. If you hit an unattended vehicle, you must make an effort to find the owner or driver, and follow these same procedures.

If you are unable to locate the owner of an unattended vehicle, you are required to leave a note indicating your name and contact information, and a brief description of the accident.


  1. In some situations, you must report an accident to the Texas Department of Transportation. You are required to complete and submit a Driver’s Crash Report within 10 days of an accident, if a police report has not been filed and any of the following apply:
  2. The accident caused injury or death.
  3. Property damage to at least one person’s property of $1,000 or more.
  4. Local Information:
    • Dial (800) 558-9368, toll free, to automatically be connected to the local TxDOT District office nearest you.
  5. General Information:
    • Call our general switchboard at (512) 463-8588 for general TxDOT information.
  6. Your report must include detailed and current information regarding your insurance coverage. The DOT will cross-check this information with the insurance company shown on the report. If you did not have liability insurance when the accident occurred, you will be required to pay an annual surcharge of $250 or risk the suspension of your driving privileges. You will be required to file proof of future financial responsibility (SR-22) in order to have your driving privileges reinstated.
  7. Make a copy of the accident report form for your personal records. You can mail the original directly to:
    Texas Department of Transportation
    Crash Records
    P.O. Box 149349
    Austin, TX 78714


Last updated on Thursday, October 15 2020.