Traffic Ticket Attorneys - Connect with TicketVoid
Find Traffic Ticket Lawyers!
- Enter your DUI or traffic ticket information into Ticket Void websitte in a quick step-by-step process.
- Ticket Void matches your DUI or traffic ticket information for FREE with qualified DUI and traffic ticket lawyers in the State/County of the offence.
- A DUI or traffic lawyer within the Ticket Void network will contact you.
Oklahoma Department of Public Safety Point System
Violating Oklahoma driving and traffic laws can result in fines, the suspension of your driving privileges, and even imprisonment. The Oklahoma Department of Public Safety (DPS) uses a point system to track violations and their corresponding penalties. Points are added to your driving record if you receive a traffic ticket for moving violations.
MOVING VIOLATIONS AND POINTS
Different violations are assigned different point values, which are added to your driving record. For instance, moving violations like careless driving, failure to observe traffic signals, moving against traffic and failure to yield at an intersection, carry two points each. Three-point offences include reckless driving and exceeding the maximum speed limit by 25 mph or more. Four point offences are not stopping for a school bus or excessive speeding. You also get one point for driving a vehicle which has multiple problems. The number of points assessed for different speeding violations are as follows:
Exceeding the maximum speed limit by 1-24 mph or more: 2 points
Exceeding the maximum speed limit by 25 mph or more: 3 points
View the complete Point Schedule in the driver's manual to learn about the number of points associated with each type of moving violation.
You will be subject to specific penalties if you accumulate a certain number of points on your driving license:
- You will have your license suspended if you accumulate 10 points or more on your current driving record over period of five years. A notice of scheduled suspension will be mailed to you. You may be imprisoned for driving with a suspended license.
- You will be assessed a fee of $25 for any suspensions or revocations of your license by the Department of Public Safety. In addition, if you do not maintain the required motor vehicle insurance on your vehicle and also get a four point on your driving record, a $75 is assessed on each suspension or revocation which is indicated in your driving record.
- Accumulating points on your driving license is also likely to increase your auto insurance rates. See our auto insurance section for more information about obtaining quality car insurance at competitive rates.
HOW TO CLEAR YOUR DRIVING RECORDThe Oklahoma DPS maintains a record of all the points added to your driving license. However, there are a number of ways in which you can remove points from your current driving record.
- If you remain violation or suspension-free for a 12 month period, you get two points deducted from your current driving record.
- If you remain violation or suspension-free for three years in a row, you can get all the points deducted from your current driving record.
- Taking a Defensive Driving Course enables you to deduct two points from your current driving record, and may also qualify you for a reduction in your car insurance rates.