Massachusetts Law on Inspection and Registration Stickers
What does the Massachusetts law says on inspection and registration stickers.
If you’re caught driving without an inspection sticker, or one that's expired, you will be cited by the police for driving an unsafe vehicle, which could also result in insurance surcharges and you could be forced to pay a fine.
When to Have an Inspection
A smog check/safety inspection is required annually. After your initial register car process is complete, the MA RMV gives you seven days to comply with the state's inspection requirements and to obtain the stickers. Then, as long as you own the vehicle, you'll need to have it inspected every year before your vehicle inspection sticker expires. There are almost 1,500 inspection stations throughout Massachusetts. For help in finding one in your neighborhood, call (866) 941-6277. Some stations do allow for appointments. When you arrive, have your vehicle registration certificate and payment for $29. If you fail your emissions test and/or safety inspection, you'll have 60 days to have your car repaired and pass inspection.
For any questions related to your replacement registration card, license plates, or stickers, contact the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles. via phone for assistance.