California's DUI laws and regulations are dictated by both the State of California and the California DMV. The state's justice system deals with the criminal charges related to the DUI that can include misdemeanour charges or felony charges and the possibility of probation or jail time. The DMV deals with the fines and drivers license suspensions/revocations caused by a DUI. In order to help you better understand DUI related issues, DMV.com covers the relevant topics for both the criminal and DMV related charges.
When drivers are arrested for a DUI in California, they are charged with two different counts. The first is driving under the influence of alcohol; the second is a related charge of driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 percent or higher. The latter charge is the one that triggers the California Department of Motor Vehicles DUI case, where the California DMV will attempt to suspend the motorist's driving privileges.
It is important for you or your lawyer to contact the DMV in order to schedule a hearing within 10 days of your arrest otherwise your license will be suspended automatically. You CANNOT contact the DMV to schedule the hearing through this site. However, if you submit your contact information on this page - a free service will have a qualified DUI lawyer who can schedule the hearing contact you.
Contacting and then hiring one the state's qualified California DUI lawyers is also a very important step. In order to effectively defend both your criminal and DMV case you should have the services of an attorney who specializes in DUI charges. As stated above, filling out the following form will trigger a free service that will connect you with a qualified local lawyer contact you regarding your DUI charges.