DMV.com is an industry leader in online traffic sources. We make it easy and affordable. Select the type of course you need and get your certification in 2 Easy Steps.
- Accepted by Courts
- Avoid Points on Record
- Keep Insurance Low
- First Time Drivers
- Required by State
- DMV Approved
- State Approved
- Work at Your Own Pace
- Offline and Phone Support
California defensive driving courses refresh drivers on how to safely operate a motor vehicle while abiding by state traffic laws. Non-commercial drivers may take a CA DMV approved traffic school course to prevent the accumulation of points on their driving record stemming from a traffic citation. To find out more information about California traffic schools, click here.
Drivers education in California is a requirement for teen drivers between the ages of 15 ½ and 17 ½ years of age applying for a learners permit. A CA drivers ed course may be completed either at a public or private high school or through a through a state-approved driving school. For more information regarding California drivers ed courses, click here.
California Drivers Education
Novice drivers must complete teen driving school and other driver education requirements to apply for a license to drive in California.
California law mandates driving classes for teenagers younger than 18 years of age who wish to apply for a CA driving license. Teen driving lessons must consist of 25 hours of classroom instruction and at least six hours of behind-the-wheel training. The classroom portion of driving school may be completed in person, online or as part of a home-based study program. Upon being enrolled in or completing a drivers ed course, the applicant will be eligible for a California learner's permit. To qualify for a provisional license, teen drivers must complete additional driver training in the form of at least 50 hours of supervised driving practice, with at least 10 of those hours being nighttime driving.
To learn more about drivers ed courses offered in CA, click here.
California Defensive Driving
Traffic school in California is an option for drivers who receive a traffic citation. Completing a driver improvement program can reap the following benefits:
- Point reduction.
- Car insurance premium reduction.
- Voluntary/personal education.
California drivers can attend DMV traffic school to prevent the addition of points to their driving record due to a traffic ticket resulting from a moving violation. Attending traffic school does not, however, erase the violation from your record. After completing the course, the incident will appear as a confidential conviction on the driver’s record. Opting not to attend California court-recommended traffic school can have a negative effect on your auto insurance.
Traffic school programs are offered all across the country, in each and every state. To find out what courses your state offers, click here.