Frequently Asked Questions

Can I keep the car insurance I have from my previous state of residence?
The state of Utah requires that all residents with registered vehicles in state hold Utah insurance requirements. Depending on the state, insurance state regulations may vary. Thus, it is important to contact the previous state insurance requirements.

Utah non-residents who are in Utah for 90 or more days must get car insurance while in Utah. The Utah SR-22 form is filed to keep track of insurance and financial responsibility.

For more information: Utah Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Do I need to cancel my insurance if I am moving to another state?
Insurance coverage varies from state to state and a driver may need to apply for car insurance depending on the state s auto insurance laws. If leaving Utah and moving to another state, it is important to notify the current insurer provider for further instruction on what to do.

Many car insurance providers offer car insurance quotes. Notify the current insurance company of a change of address as to where the car will reside.

For more information: Utah Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I have been in an accident, what property damage do I have to report?
With minimum UT insurance for a car there is a $15,000 property damage liability. The property damage liability covers damage caused to the property or vehicle of another. The insurance company and the insurer may agree on the amount of damage to a driver s property damage and may not refuse to pay the agreed property damage claim.

For questions on getting car insurance and liability coverage contact the DMV toll-free at 800-368-8824.

For more information: Utah Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What is the minimum liability insurance coverage?
Minimum liability for Utah car insurance is $80,000 in any one accident or a 25,000/65,000/15,000 liability. The liability insurance coverage may be divided into the following categories:

  • $25,000 of liability for bodily injury or death of one person
  • $65,000 of liability for bodily injury or death of two or more persons
  • $15,000 of liability for property damage

This minimum Utah liability policy may have additional coverage options. Other optional requirements may include rental car coverage, road assistance, etc.

For more information: Utah Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What proof of insurance can I provide when registering my car?
Throughout a vehicle s registration period, the vehicle owner must have No-Fault insurance. The following documents are acceptable proofs of insurance when registering your vehicle:

  • Insurance binder
  • Insurance card
  • Insurance declaration
  • Insurance policy
  • SR-22 form from a Utah-licensed insurance company or agent

It is Utah law that proof of car insurancebe presented to a law enforcement officer upon request. It is advisable to keep proof of insurance inside the vehicle at all times.

For more information: Utah Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What type of car insurance am I required to have?
The state of Utah requires residents and applicable non-residents to maintain No-Fault insurance if they are the owner or operator of the vehicle. All motor vehicles must maintain liability coverage during the period of registration. The No-Fault insurance includes comprehensive general liability insurance that covers and meets the minimum insurance requirements according to the Utah Division of Risk Management. Contact auto insurance providers for information on applying for car insurance in Utah.

For more information: Utah Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What will happen if I fail to get or keep car insurance?
If a court or the Department of Public Safety finds a driver operating a motor vehicle without insurance, it may result in a court hearing that may:

  • Suspend uninsured an vehicle registration.
  • Charge a Class B misdemeanor.
  • Charge a fine no less than $400.

The Department of Public Safety may suspend a driver s driving license if the driver fails in insuring a vehicle. Until the vehicle operator or owner provides evidence of insurance and a fee of reinstatement, then the Department of Public Safety may not renew or issue the driver s license. When completed, the Department of Motor Vehicles will be notified.

For more information: Utah Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Which types of vehicles need to be insured?
All motor vehicles in Utah must be insured. Utah residents and non-residents operating motor vehicles in Utah for 90 days or morein a year must maintain No-Fault insurance. If a motor vehicle is being operated in Utah, except off-highway vehicles, then insurance must accompany the registration.

It is Utah law that proof ofUtah car insurancebe presented to a law enforcement officer upon request.

For more information: Utah Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save