Frequently Asked Questions

Can I request a certified driver’s record online?
In Utah, certified drivers records cannot be requested online and may only be requested in person or via mail. Certified MVRs may take two or more weeks of processing and require a fee of $10.75 (subject to change), for the first 15 pages.

If requesting a certified, Utah driving record in person complete the following forms:

If requesting a certified, Utah driving record via mail, specify the records requested and complete the following forms:

For more information: Your Utah Driving Record

Do I need to attend traffic school if I get a speeding ticket?
Traffic school is served on a qualifying basis in Utah. If the driver meets certain requirements, traffic school can be completed in place of paying aUtah traffic ticket fine or attending court. For speeding tickets, a driver may be eligible for traffic school if:

  • Caught not going more than 20 mph.
  • Caught 30 days or less since the ticket was issued.
  • Not ticketed with more than one offense.

Other criteria may be upheld. Contact the local Justice Court for eligibility and concerns.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Utah

How can I pay for my traffic or parking ticket?
Traffic or parking tickets can be paid online at the Utah Courts government website. To pay traffic tickets online, the following documents may be required:

  • Court case or citation number
  • Justice court
  • Court-specific fillable form
  • Online payment transfer

Case numbers are unique to court locations, not statewide. To pay by mail or in person, visit a local county justice court location.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Utah

How do I file a complaint when I believe someone has illegally accessed my DMV record?
It is against Utah government law to disclose driver information. If there is reason to believe that someone has illegally accessed a Utah driving record, contact the DLD or the DMV.

The DLD may be contacted by phone at 801-965-4437 and the DMV may be contacted at 1-800-DMV-UTAH.

For more information: Your Utah Driving Record

How do I get a copy of my driving record?
A regular driving history record can be obtained online, via mail or by visiting a local DLD office in Utah.

To obtain a driving record online, visit the Department of Public Safety Driver s License Division webpage online and use the secure Request Your Driving Record services. The online driving record will require driver information and a credit or debit card payment that matches the record on file.

Visit a localDLD or administrative office to obtain request anUtah driving recordin person and provide the following:

For an MVR request via mail,provide the following to the Utah DLD P.O. Box:

  • Notarized Request For MVR By Mail form
  • MVR fee of $6 via check or money order (subject to change)

For more information: Your Utah Driving Record

How do I get a traffic ticket dismissed?
A traffic tickets may be dismissed depending on the instruction listed on the citation. The most common form of dismissal is:

  • Paying traffic ticket
  • Appearing in court (if necessary)

The driver may also have a chance to dispute the ticket in court. Upon pleading “not guilty” and supported by the court, the ticket may be dismissed.

Traffic school may also dismiss a traffic ticket if the ticket qualifies for this form of dismissal. Contact the local Justice Court for eligibility and concerns about traffic school.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Utah

How do I obtain a copy of someone else’s driving record?
A government or insurance agency or a licensed private investigator, may access the Utah DMV driving record of another individual by providing the following:

  • Completed Request for MVR(DLD60a) by an authorized company official
  • Applicable fee (if required)

To obtain someone else s driving record, an MVR can be requested by an employer, agent of employer, or insurer of employer for a CDL holder, or an individual with notarized consent. Provide the following

  • Completed Request for MVR(DLD60b) by an authorized official or notarized individual
  • Applicable fee (if required)

For more information: Your Utah Driving Record

How do I reinstate my license if I refused to submit a breath/urine/blood test?
Drivers are subject to the Utah Implied Consent Law. The law declares that the refusal to submit a breath/urine/blood test will result in a license revocation for 18 months. To reinstate a driverslicense, the driver must wait until the revocation period has been completed and provide the following:

  • Reinstatement fee
  • Driver license fee
  • Required examinations

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Utah

How do I remove points from my driver’s license?
Points may be removed from a Utah driverslicense on an improved driving basis. If driving one year without a traffic violation conviction, half the points on the drivers license will be removed. If driving two years without a traffic violation infraction, then all the points on the driver s license may be cleared.

Attending court-approved programs like defensive driving or traffic safety courses may remove 50 points from a driver s license. The program may only be taken once every three years.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Utah

How many points can I get on my driving record before my driver’s license is suspended?
The Utah point system holds different standards for license suspension. A driver below the age of 21,who has accumulated 70 points in three years or less, may need to undergo a license hearing and a suspension or denial of driving privileges. An individual 21 or older, who has accumulated 200 points within three years, may be subject to a hearing and a possible suspension/denial.

Contact the DLD by phone at 801-965-4437, Monday-Friday between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m.

For more information: Your Utah Driving Record

How many times can I attend a traffic school course to remove points from my driving record?
A total of 50 points can be removed from a Utahdrivers recordfor completing a driver improvement course. A Division Hearing officer recommends the driver improvement courses but each course and its regulations vary depending on the district/court jurisdiction.

To further remove points from a driving record, drivers are rewarded for a year or two of safe driving. After one year of accident-free driving, half the points may be removed off the UT DMV driving record. After two years, all points are deleted.

For more information: Point System in Utah

If I lost my traffic or parking ticket, how can I find the information again?
In the case of a lost ticket, contact the law enforcement agency that issued it and ask about paying traffic tickets in Utah. If the ticket is issued by the Utah Highway Patrol visit the Utah Highway Patrol website for local offices. If a city or county issued the ticket, visit the Utah City and County webpage to locate a local police or sheriff s department.

If the necessary information from the XChange court case lookup is known, simply visit the Utah Courts government website and enter the appropriate information where asked.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Utah

If my driver’s license was confiscated at the time of my DUI/DWI arrest, how do I get it back?
At the time of a Utah DUI arrest, your drivers license may be confiscated by a law enforcement officer and may not be given back. The officer will then issue a citation that also serves as a temporary license for 29 days.

The court hearing will determine the suspension period. Upon completing the suspension period and any additional requirements the driver may apply for a license reinstatement. The suspension period depends on:

  • Suspension times.
  • Age.
  • Hearing.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Utah

What are the different types of driving records?
The DLD offers different types of Utah driving records. These driving records include:

  • MVR
  • Full driver history
  • Certified records (includes MVR)

The fees and applications for each type of driving record vary. For certified records, additional pages may hold higher fees. The driver, government agencies, CDL employers, insurers, etc. may request different types of driving records depending on the situation.

For more information: Your Utah Driving Record

What are the penalties of being convicted of driving under the influence?
A driver guilty of driving while intoxicated in Utah may be faced with serious penalties including:

  • Class B or class A misdemeanor
  • Third-degree felony
  • Separate offense for each victim suffering injury

The driver license may also be suspended either as an administrative driver license suspension or a driver license suspension for a DUI conviction. The suspension will be determined with sentencing.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Utah

What happens if I get traffic ticket fines and I have a CDL?
A traffic ticket severity of a CDL holder depends on the operating vehicle. CDL drivers are subject to the point system and may face disqualifications of licenses.

If operating a CMV, an accumulation of serious traffic tickets and violations may disqualify a CDL for any reasonable depending on the type of violation and severity. If a CDL holder has been convicted of certain moving violation in a personal vehicle the driver may be at risk of disqualifying the CDL license.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Utah

What information does a driving record contain?
In Utah, the Regular Motor Vehicle Driver History Record is referred to as an MVR. An MVR can be requested by mail, online, or in person and serves as a collection of violations, convictions, collisions, and DMV actions for a driver. Usually, the MVR will only contain citations of the last three years and drug/alcohol violation of the last ten years.

The driving record database is different from the Utah police record, which may require use of another search separate from the Driver License Division.

For more information: Your Utah Driving Record

What is considered the legal alcohol limit?
What is the cost of a DUI?
Intoxicated driving has a series of payment consequences. A general median of costs of fines and fees is approximately $10,000 and may include UtahDUI ticket payment, lawyers, increased insurance premiums, bail and other fees. A series of alcohol/drug related fees is required to be paid to the DLD if the driver wishes to reinstate their driver s license. Some of these fees may include:

  • Drivers license fee: $30
  • License reinstatement for an alcohol/drug-related offense:$65
  • Administrative fee for license reinstatement ofan alcohol/drug-related offense: $230
What is the cost of a traffic ticket?
The cost of traffic tickets range in dependence of the infraction.The sentencing of fines is finalized and concluded by the sentencing judge based on the Utah Uniform Fine/Bail Forfeiture Schedule. Some traffic tickets may not have to be paid and the driver may qualify for traffic school courses.

Utah traffic ticket fines can be paid online at the Utah Courts government website or in person or by mail at a local county justice court location.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Utah

What is the cost to get a driver record?
The cost of a Utah drivers record varies depending on the length and type. Prices may be subject to change but go as follows:

  • MVR:$6
  • Full driver history:$7
  • Certified record (MVR and first 15 pages): $10.75
  • Certified record (MVR and pages 16-30): $15.75
  • Certified record (MVR and pages 31-45): $20.75
  • Certified record (MVR and page 46 or more):$25.75

For additional costs and questionson how to check driving records in Utah contact a DLD office.

For more information: Your Utah Driving Record

What is the DUI penalty for a CDL driver?
CDL driver if caught driving while intoxicated in Utah are at risk of losing their CDL for at least one year. A DWI may be administered if the CDL driver is caught driving a CMV with:

  • Blood alcohol concentration of .04 percentor more.
  • Influence of alcohol, illegal drugs, or a controlled substance.

Refusal to undergo testing will also result in a minimum one year CDL suspension. CDL drivers may suffer more severe penalties depending on the number of offenses and their state of operation.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Utah

What is the DUI penalty for a minor?
Drivers in Utah under the age of 21 may not operate a vehicle with any detectable alcohol or substance in the body. If caught, a minor s DUIpenalty is dependent on age and type of arrest.

Drivers under 19 may have a suspension period ranging from one year to two years. Drivers between the ages of 19 to 20 may face a drivers license suspension period of 6 months.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Utah

What must I do to reinstate my driver’s license as a result of a DUI/DWI?
After the driver s license has been revoked due to a Utah DUI citation, the driver should request a hearing within ten days. Simply fill out the Hearing Request form and fax it to the Utah Driver License Division at 801-964-4499.

After the hearing, the revocation/suspension conditions will be concluded. The suspension times may vary and to reinstate the license may involve:

  • Alcohol restriction (before and after revocation period).
  • Ignition interlocked restriction.
  • Payment of fees.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Utah

Where can I find more information about an ignition interlock device?
For the complete Utah chapter concerning the Ignition Interlock Restricted Driver Law, visit the Utah State Legislature webpage. The Driver License Division of the Utah Department of Public Safety offers a webpage of general information on ignition interlock restriction information.

Please note that any person charged with driving under the influence will be interlock restricted as stated under Utah law. Visit the Utah DLD webpage for a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device provider list.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Utah

Where can I find my traffic or parking ticket information online?
Traffic or parking ticket information can be located at the Utah Courts government website. Click “Court Case Lookup” to trigger theXChangecase search. The case search may ask the following questions to find Utah ticket information online:

  • Jurisdiction
  • Search type
  • Case number
  • First and last name
  • Search Scope
  • Case Type
  • Citation number
  • Birth date

The Xchange system will provide government summary case history and extended case history, as well as provide managementoptionsand options to pay traffic tickets.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Utah

Why doesn’t a recent traffic ticket I received appear on my driving record?
Traffic or parking tickets, upon being administered, can be located at the Utah Courts government website. Click “Court Case Lookup” to trigger the exchange case search. A recent traffic ticket may not appear because the court has not sent it in yet, it is not a moving violation, or is a citation that does not allow it to be shown.

For additional questions on checking driving records, contact the Utah DLD at 801-965-4437, Monday-Friday between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m.

For more information: Your Utah Driving Record

Will I have points against my driver’s license if I get a ticket?
The DMV uses a point system for moving traffic violations. If a ticket is issued for infractions, points based on the type of violations and accidents will be added to the driver s driving record. An accumulation of points may result temporary suspension or revocation of driving privileges.

If 21 or over, 200 or more points in three years, will result in suspension of driving privileges. If under 21, a suspension can occur if 70 or more points are acquired in a three-year period. Visit the Utah Driver Handbook for a complete list of point penalties in relation to the infraction.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Utah

Will I have to take an alcohol awareness class to reinstate my driver’s license?
An alcohol awareness course may be required depending on the sentencing. Participation in an educational series is almost always mandatory if not ordering substance treatment. The administered Utah DUI education course is made to educate drivers on the risks, harms, and consequences of driving while intoxicated. The state of Utah offers a variety of alcohol and drug educational courses that must be completed to follow sentencing regulations and reinstate a driver s license.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Utah