Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to file a police report if my license was lost or stolen?
In the case of identity theft, the applicant may file a police report. The following steps may be done to help recover damage:

  • Organize the identity case:
    • Copy all financial statements
    • Organize loose documents
    • Keep track of expenses
  • Contact the DLD for a duplicate driver s license
  • Start the 90-Day Fraud Alert

For more information on lost drivers licenses and inquiries contact a local law enforcement division and/or the DLD.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Utah Driver’s License or ID Card

How can I obtain a copy of the driver manual?
A copy of the Utah Driver Handbook can be found here. The handbook provides in depth knowledge on getting, applying, and maintaining a Utah driving license. The subjects include:

  • Basic driving skills
  • Definitions
  • Driver license field offices
  • Driver license regulation
  • How crashes may affect you
  • Information for RV s and large vehicles
  • License revocations and suspension, alcohol, point system, driving records
  • Obtaining a driver license
  • Registration, inspection, and equipment
  • Rules of the road
  • Sample test questions
  • Special subjects and interests for drivers
  • Traffic signs, signals, and road markings
  • Utah s classified license system

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Utah

How can I renew my drivers license?
To acquire a Utah Class D driver s license renewal, the applicant may renew online using the DLD Utah Driver License Online Renewal or by visiting a local DLD office; appointments or walk-ins both welcome.

The following must be providedin order to renew a driver license in Utah:

  • Utah Drivers License Application provided here
  • Current Utah driver s license
  • Two proofs of Utah residency (if address has changed)
  • Passing status on the written examination and/or the driving skills examination
  • Passing status on the vision examination
  • Completed medical questionnaire
  • Non-refundable fee of $25 (prices subject to change)

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Utah

How do I apply for a drivers license?
To acquire a Utah Class D driver s license issued to drive motor vehicles, the applicant must be a resident of the state and visit a local DLD office; appointments or walk-ins are both welcome.

For newor current residents, the following documents must be provided:

  • Utah Drivers License Application provided here
  • Proof of identity
  • Proof of legal status
  • Proof of Social Security number
  • Two proofs of Utah residency
  • Evidence of driver education, an out-of-state valid license, or a 90 days learners permit
  • Passing status on the written examination and/or the driving skills examination
  • Passing status on the vision examination
  • Completed medical questionnaire
  • Non-refundable fee of $25 if 21 or older, or nonrefundable fee of $30 if provisional (prices subject to change)

Utah provides the opportunity for legal non-US citizens to obtain a limited-term drivers license. In order to obtain a limited-term drivers license, the following must be provided at the DLD office:

  • Utah Drivers License Application provided here
  • Proof of identity
  • Proof of legal status
  • Proof of Social Security number
  • Two proofs of Utah residency
  • Evidence of driver education, valid foreign driving privilege, or 90 days learners permit (if 19 and over)
  • Completed medical questionnaire
  • Non-refundable fee of $25 if 21 or older, or nonrefundable fee of $30 if provisional (prices subject to change)

If you are a refugee or an approved asylee, the following documents must also be provided:

  • Evidence of status as refugee or approved ayslee/ SAVE verified legal/lawful presence document
  • Evidence of SAVE verified identity

Utah provides the opportunity to illegal non-US citizens to obtain a driving privilege card. If unable to establish legal/lawful presence and/or you are ineligible for a Social Security number,a driving privilege card can be issued. It is not a valid identification card and it only serves to allow you to legally drive in Utah. You must follow the same aforementioned steps in order to get a driving privilege card.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Utah

How do I get a hardship license?
A hardship license may only be granted to a driver once during one period of suspension, revocation, denial or disqualification.To obtain a hardship license in Utah, written verification proving undue hardship from having aUT revoked drivers license will be needed. A regular limited license or an alcohol/drug related limited driving license might be issued in dependence of suspension circumstances.

The following are requirements in obtaining a regular limited driving license (hardship license):

  • Clearing open-ended department action
  • Providing written verification from employer of necessary work schedule
  • Paying reinstatement and licensing fees
  • Completing required examinations
  • Providing a letter of recommendation from the last convicting judge
  • Demonstrating undue hardship

For more information: Suspended License Information for Utah

How do I get a replacement license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
To replace a DMV drivers licenses, the applicants must present themselves at a local DLD office. If you are in the military and stationed elsewhere, once you are back in Utah, visit a local DLD and provide the following documents:

  • Passing status on the vision examination
  • Completed medical questionnaire
  • Non-refundable fee of $18 (subject to change)

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Utah Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I obtain a duplicate license?
A duplicate driver s licensecan be obtained by coming into a local DLD office; appointments or walk-ins both welcome. The following must be provided in order to renew driver licenses in Utah:

  • Passing status on the vision examination
  • Completed medical questionnaire
  • Non-refundable fee of $18 (subject to change)

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Utah Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I reinstate after a revocation as a Habitual Traffic Offender?
The state of Utah does not define a driver as a Habitual Traffic Offender. The Utah Point system declares that individuals below the age of 21, if accumulating 70 points in 3 years or less, may lead to a drivers license hearing and a suspension or denial of driving privileges. For an individual 21 or a hearing and possible suspension/denial may result if accumulating 200 points within three years.

The following are examples of driving offenses and their relative points:

  • Reckless Driving: 80
  • Speeding: 35-75
  • Tailgating: 60
  • Improper Passing: 50

Please note that points may vary in dependence of the court. A complete list of the point system can be found in the Utah Driver Handbook.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Utah

How do I reinstate my suspended license?
After the suspension period of a driver s license is over, court fees are paid, and all necessary additional suspension requirements are completed a driver is eligible to reinstate a revoked drivers license.

To reinstate a suspended drivers license, visit a local DLD and complete:

  • The DLDapplication for license reinstatement
  • Additional fee or fees

For more information: Suspended License Information for Utah

How do I renew my license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
The state of Utah extends the driver s license expirationdate if the applicant is currently enlisted in the military and stationed outside of Utah. The applicant has an extension of up to 90 days after discharge.

Military personnel may also apply for Utah drivers license renewal if out-of-state more than six months prior to the expiration date. Evidence of military stationing will be needed to verify absence for the six-month period.

If the DLD has contacted the applicant with eligibility for online renewal, the applicant is exempt from visiting the DLD office and may renew the license online through the Utah Driver License Online Renewal.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Utah

How do I replace my license if I am a non-U.S. citizen?
Non-U.S. citizens in the case of address or name change are required to provide their current Utah drivers license and appropriate documentation validating the change. In the case of lost or stolen drivers license, non-US citizens must demonstrate evidence of identity and legal status. Two forms of residency are needed as well.

These documents must be brought into a local DLD office and the following must be completed upon arrival:

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Utah Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I replace my license if I lost it out of state?
To replace a lost drivers license, visit a local DLD office and provide the following documents:

  • Utah Drivers License Application
  • Current Utah driver s license
  • Forms of evidence indicating identity and legal status
  • Passing status on the vision examination
  • Completed medical questionnaire
  • Non-refundable fee of $18 (subject to change)

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Utah Driver’s License or ID Card

How does the DMV check my vision?
A review examination at a Utah DLD office will call for a vision-screening test. A standard eye exam will require 20/40 vision and side vision of 90 degrees in at least one eye with or without glasses. Failure to meet these requirements will result in a requested statement from an eye doctor or else the application for a drivers license will not be approved. The vision statement must explain any specific vision problems and/or restrictions. Upon review, certain driving restrictions may be placed on the license.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Utah

How long will I have a suspended license for not taking a chemical test?
In accordance to the Implied Consent Law, if a driver refuses to undergo a chemical test it may result in a revoked drivers license.Revocation periods vary depending on age and number of offenses. Drivers below the age of 21 may have their driving license revoked for 24 months in the case of a first offense, 36 months for a second offense, or until the age of 21. Drivers 21 or older when facing a first offense may have a suspended license for 18 months. For subsequent offenses, the drivers license may be suspended for 36 months. Additional requirements may apply as well.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Utah

How soon can I renew my driver’s license?
A Utah driver license can be renewed six months before its expiration date.If you are located out of state more than six months prior to the expiration date, a chance to renew driving licenses prior to the trip can be arranged with the DLD. Evidence to verify absence for the six-month period must be brought to a local DLD office. Along with the evidence, appropriate documentation and payment will need to be presented as well.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Utah

If I file a police report, will my replacement fee be waived?
The Utah DLD does not require a filed police report if a license is stolen or lost. If needing a duplicate license the fee will be $18 (subject to change). A police report will not waive the fee. The fee can be paid at a local DLD office upon finishing a drivers license copy request.

For more information on lost drivers licenses and inquiries contact a local law enforcement division and/or the DLD.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Utah Driver’s License or ID Card

Is there an age limit to renew your license?
A license may be renewed until the driver s ability to drive is impaired because of medical or age-related reasons. In this case, the Utah driver s license must be exchanged at a Utah DLD office for an ID card. Renewed drivers licenses expire on the birth date after five years on the fifth year and require the renewal process upon expiration to become validated. The process for renewing driver s license will be completed and a temporary driver s license will be issued and the completed drivers license will be mailed four to six week later.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Utah

What address will my replacement license be mailed to?
The duplicate drivers license will be mailed to the address the DLD has on file. The DLD address is the address in which proof of residency is established. If applying for an address change, the Utah duplicate license will be mailed to the most current address on file. Duplicate licenses are mailed approximately four to six weeks after the time of application. If an applicant has not received a duplicate license, the DLD Administration can be contacted 801-965-4437 or at the Utah DLD website.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Utah Driver’s License or ID Card

What are requirements for seniors to renew a driving license?
Standard renewal procedures apply for a senior citizen applying for a drivers license renewal in Utah. When renewing a Utah driving license, you must present the following documents upon arrival at a local DLD office:

  • Passing status on the vision examination (if 65 years or older each new license application will require a new vision examination)
  • Completed medical questionnaire
  • Current Utah driver license (if address has changed provide appropriate documentation of two evidences of residency)
  • A renewal license fee of $13if 65 years and older

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Utah

What are some violations that may constitute in a suspended license?
A suspended driving license in Utah indicates that a driver may have been guilty of offenses that revoke driving privileges and the driver s license. Offenses include, but are not limited to:

  • Reckless or illegal conduct that causes death, injury or property damage.
  • Physical or mental incompetence to drive equating unsafe driving.
  • Illegally using driving license or allowing someone to use it.
  • Refusal or failure of Division required examination.
  • Arrest due to DUI or drug offense.
  • Failure to pay child support.

A complete list of offenses that may jeopardize or may result in a Utah drivers license suspension can be found in the Utah Driver Handbook.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Utah

What are the consequences of driving with a suspended license?
The Utah State legislature declares that driving with a Utah suspended driving license or a suspended drivers license in any of the US states, territories, or districts will result in a class B misdemeanor if driving under specific suspension convictions.

Fines for class B misdemeanors begin at $1,000 and are subject to change. If driving with a suspended drivers license, a class Cmisdemeanor conviction or infraction the driver may result in paying a fine of at least $750. Consequences, convictions of misdemeanors, and fines vary depending on the suspended drivers license circumstances.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Utah

What are the fees for a duplicate drivers license?
When obtaining a duplicate driver s license, fees may vary. The following fees for duplicate licenses are subject to change and include:

  • Commercial driver school duplicate license: $10
  • Commercial driver school duplicate instructor license: $6
  • Duplicate class D: $18
  • Duplicate class A, B, or C license: $18
  • Duplicate mobility vehicle permit: $10
  • Driving Privilege duplicate class D: $18

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Utah Driver’s License or ID Card

What are the reinstatement fees I will have to pay for a suspended license?
For suspended driving license reinstatements, a reinstatement fee of $30 (subject to change) must be paid after revocation. It is important to note that reinstatement fees will be paid along with other suspension-specific drivers license fees.

In the case of a Utah DUI offense, the driver may apply for a new drivers license after the suspension period has ended. This fee will be a $65 reinstatement requiring a regular driverslicense, taking required examinations and additional $230 administration fees may be applied (prices subject to change).

For more information: Suspended License Information for Utah

What are the suspensions eligible for a hardship license?
A hardship license may be issued to a driver who has a UT suspended drivers license.This specific drivers license is only given if the driver may have to endure undue hardship from having the driving privileges revoked.

Eligible suspensions for a hardship-driving license may include:

  • Perjury and/or falsificationto the DMV requiring registration and/or highway regulation of motor vehicles
  • Two indictments of reckless and/or impaired driving in a span of12 months
  • Failure to stop motor vehicle when commanded by a peace officer
  • Any disqualifying offense noted in the Uniform Commercial Driver License Act

Commercial Motor Vehicles are not eligible to be operated with the use of a “hardship” license if the driver s license has beenrevoked, cancelled, or suspended.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Utah

What do I need to do to get my driver’s license if I fail the driving test?
If you fail the required driving test to get a Utah drivers license, you can retake the test as soon as the next day. Onlyone skills examination can be completed per day and there is a maximum of three attempts per fee. For further examinations, the fee will need to be paid again and there is a six-month time frame for all the examinations to be completed from the day the fee is paid. If, under any circumstances, an examiner believes an applicant s driving is questionable, further examination can be given.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Utah

What documents do I need to get my drivers license?
Documentation for a Utah drivers license varies and depends on legal status and form of driving privilege (Driver s License, LTDL, or DPC).

Documents required for US citizens, US nationals or permanent resident aliens to obtain a class D drivers license include:

  • One proof of identity and legal status:
    • US passport
    • Permanent resident card
    • Certification of Naturalization
  • Two proofs of Utah residency:
    • Court documents
    • Rental contract
    • Utility bill
    • School transcript
  • One proof of Social Security number:
    • Social Security card
    • W-2 Form
    • SSA-1099 Form
    • Non SSA-1099 Form
    • Pay stub
  • One proof of driving experience:
    • Driving course completion
    • Out of state/country driving privilege

Documentation for legal foreigners that are not for US citizens, US nationals or permanent resident aliens applying for a limited-term drivers license may vary. Find out more by contacting your local Utah DLD office.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Utah

What documents do I need to present to renew my drivers license?
The Utah DLD only requires the current driver s license and up to two additional forms of evidence verifying Utah residency if requesting an address change. The following are examples of appropriate evidence of Utah residency:

  • Court documents
  • Current mortgage or rental contract
  • Property tax notice
  • School transcript
  • Utility bill
  • Vehicle title

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Utah

What documents will I need to present to replace my drivers license?
To obtain aUtah drivers license replacementbecause it has been stolen, lost, or the applicant is declaring a name or address change, the following documents must be brought to a local DLD office:

  • Forms of evidence indicating identity and legal status:
    • US passport
    • Social Security Card
    • Permanent resident card
    • Certification of Naturalization
    • Citizenship
  • Two forms of residency:
    • Current mortgage
    • Rental contract
    • Property tax notice
    • Utility bill

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Utah Driver’s License or ID Card

What languages is the written test available in?
The written examination is administered in English. It is illegal to hold a license to drive if incapable of understanding highway signs in English.

Applicants who are approved asylees or refugees can bring acceptable proof of their status to the DLD office in order to be eligible to take the Utah written knowledge test with the help of an approved and certified translator in their native language. The translator service must be approved by the Department of Workforce Services and will be issued a temporary driving permit.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Utah

What penalties will I face if I do not renew my expired drivers license?
If caught driving with an expired drivers license, a law enforcement officer may charge a driver with a fine of $50. If requesting a driver license renewal after a license has been expired for more than 6 months, the applicant may be subject to a 25-question, open-book, written examination. Certain exceptions to expired drivers licenses can be made. When attempting to renew licenses, applicants may renew online (if eligible) using the DLD Utah Driver License Online Renewal or by visiting a local DLD office.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Utah

What should I do if I have not received my renewed license?
Drivers in Utah should expect to receive a renewed drivers license approximately four to six weeks after applying for renewal. If an applicant has not received a renewed license, contact the DLDAdministration. The DLD Administration can be contacted:

  • By phone: 801-965-4437
  • Online: Visit the Utah DLD division Contact and fill out an Email inquiry.
  • In person: The DLD division is located on the third floor at South 4501 South 2700 West PO Box 144501 Salt Lake City, Utah 84129

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Utah

What tests will I need to take for my drivers license?
When applying for a drivers license in Utah, you must pass certain tests which include:

  • Vision examination: Requires 20/40 vision and side vision of 90 degree in at least one eye with or without glasses.
  • Written examination: Divided into two sections of road signs and written questions. Written tests can only be taken twice a day.
  • Skills examination: Requires the applicant to demonstrate driving ability to a DLD examiner and may only be taken once a day. It is the applicant s responsibility to provide an approved, certified vehicle.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Utah

What type of noncommercial license will I need?
The Utah driving license for noncommercial purposes is a standard driving license for Class D or motorcycle vehicles. All vehicles not defined as Class A, B, or C are considered noncommercial. The minimum age for a Class D license is 16 years old and allows for driving personal vehicles up to 26,000 lbs. To drive a motorcycle, the license must have a motorcycle endorsement.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Utah

When can I reinstate my license after it has been suspended?
To reinstate a suspended driver s license in Utah the driver must wait until the suspension period is over. Suspension periods vary depending on suspension convictions. To find out more about license reinstatement contact a local DLD office or the DLD administrative office at 801-965-4437.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Utah

When will I need to renew my license?
A Utah driver s license must be renewed before it expires. The expiration date is located on the front of the driver s license and will read “Exp” followed by the date of license expiration. A Utah drivers license can be renewed six months before its expiration date.

To renew expired driving licenses in attempt to avoid driving with an expired license, the DLD offers online renewal using the DLD Utah Driver License Online Renewal or by creating an appointment and visiting a local DLD office.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Utah

When will I receive a replacement license after applying?
The completed duplicate drivers license will be mailed and may arrive in approximately four to six weeks after applying. If an applicant has not received a duplicate license, contact the DLD Administration. The DLD Administration can be contacted:

  • By phone: 801-965-4437
  • Online: Visit the Utah DLD division Contact and fill out an Email inquiry.
  • In person: The DLD division is located on the third floor at South 4501 South 2700 West PO Box 144501 Salt Lake City, Utah 84129

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Utah Driver’s License or ID Card

Where can I check to see if my license is suspended?
The Utah Driver s License Division allows drivers to obtain copies of their driving record, known as the MVR. A motor vehicle report provides information on a driver s driving record and can be obtained via mail, online, or by visiting a local DLD office.

To check if a driver has a suspended drivers license via MVR appear at a local DLD or mail the following:

For more information: Suspended License Information for Utah

Where can I get a new drivers license?
To apply for a drivers license, visit the nearest DLD office through an appointment or walk-in. If an appointment is made, it is recommended that the applicant have the Utah Drivers License Application filled out and printed. If going as a walk-in, the form is available at the DLD office.

The DLD office will also expect a series of documents and exams, along with an application, fee, questionnaire and financial responsibility signature, which are subject to approval.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Utah

Will I be required to take a vision test for a drivers license renewal?
In order to be issued a renewed driver s license, a vision examination will be administered and must result in a passing status. The vision-screening test will require 20/40 vision and side vision of 90 degrees in at least one eye with or without glasses. Failure to meet these requirements will result in a requested statement from an eye doctor. Certain restrictions may be placed on the renewed license if certain vision requirements are needed to drive.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Utah

Will I get a drivers license renewal notice in the mail?
If eligible to renew drivers license online, the DLD will mail an online renewal notice with a PIN and access to the Utah Driver License Online Renewal. In the case of the letter s misplacement, call customer service at 801-965-4437. If ineligible to renew online, an applicant may visit a local DLD office through appointment or walk-in. The applicant must come with required documentation and any additional fees.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Utah