DMV.com is an industry leader in online traffic sources. We make it easy and affordable. Select the type of course you need and get your certification in 2 Easy Steps.
- First Time Drivers
- Required by State
- DMV Approved
- State Approved
- Work at Your Own Pace
- Offline and Phone Support
New York defensive driving courses provide drivers both the knowledge and proper techniques to learn safe driving habits. Residents may take a driver improvement class at a state-approved traffic school to reduce the number of demerit points on a NY driving record, dismiss a ticket or earn a car insurance discount. For more information regarding the New York Point and Insurance Reduction Program (PIRP), click here.
Drivers education in New York is required by the Department of Motor Vehicles for first-time drivers who want to advance from a learner’s permit to a junior driver’s license. Beginner drivers must enroll in a pre-licensing course or in a drivers ed course when they turn 16 years of age, after they get an NY learner’s permit. For more information regarding New York drivers ed courses, click here.
New York Drivers Education
New York teen drivers are required to meet certain requirements before obtaining a regular driver's license.
New York DMV requires drivers who are at least 16 years of age to complete a driver education course approved by the Department of Motor Vehicles. Drivers are also required to have a learner’s permit in their possession. Driving applicants can enroll in either a pre-licensing course or in a drivers ed course in order to get a provisional driver’s license. Enrolling in a drivers ed course requires fulfilling a 24-hour classroom training and 24-hour behind-the-wheel driving instruction.
To learn more about drivers ed courses offered in NY, click here.
New York Defensive Driving
The New York Department of Motor Vehicles may require drivers to complete a state-approved defensive driving class for the following reasons:
- To reinstate a driver’s license.
- To reduce points on your record.
- To receive a car insurance discount.
- For voluntary/personal education.
Drivers have the option to choose whether they will enroll in a classroom course or in an online New York defensive driving course. If you enroll in an in-classroom driver improvement course, you must attend in person 320 minutes of instruction.
Traffic school programs are offered all across the state, in each and every county. To find out what courses New York offers, click here.