Frequently Asked Questions

Can I keep the car insurance I have from my previous state of residence?
No, you cannot keep the same car insurance policy from your previous state of residences in the state of North Dakota. Your insurance policy must be issued from a North Dakota insurance agent who is licensed in the state of North Dakota. Your rate will likely change since each state has a different insurance rate. Contact your insurance agent for more information.

For more information: North Dakota Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Do I need to cancel my insurance if I am moving to another state?
If you are moving to another state, contact yourcar insurance company to let them know what state to which you are moving. You may not need to cancel your policy if your company provides coverage in your new state. Each state has a different insurance rate, so the price of your policy will likely change. Also, some states require more than the minimum coverage as is allowed in North Dakota.

For more information: North Dakota Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

How can I avoid a license suspension if I choose not to insure my vehicle?
By law, you are required to have the minimum liability car insurance in the state of North Dakota. If you are caught driving without insurance, your license tags could be suspended or revoked and points may be assessed to your driving record. The minimum fine for being caught driving without the proper insurance is $300.

For more information: North Dakota Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I have been in an accident, what property damage do I have to report?
If you have been involved in an automobile accident with apparent property damage in the amount of $1,000 or more, the accident must be reported to your car insurance company along with the following information:

  • Full name
  • Address
  • Vehicle registration number

For more information: North Dakota Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I live outside of the state for half the year, am I still required to have car insurance?
If your car is registered in the state of North Dakota, then you are required to keep the vehicle insured for the duration of the registration. All North Dakota registered vehicles must have the minimum liabilitycar insurance, even if you live outside the state for half of the year. Contact your insurance company for more information about car insurance coverage options.

For more information: North Dakota Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I own multiple vehicles, am I required to have them all insured?
All North Dakota residents must carry proof of financial responsibility if they wish to legally operate a motor vehicle within the state. This means that if you have more than one vehicle, you must provide get car insurance for each vehicle.

Luckily, many ND insurance companies offer discounts for insuring more than one vehicle on the same insurance policy. Check with your insurance company to find out if the multi-car discount is available and if you are eligible for it. Also, when choosing a car insurance provider and checking car insurance quotes, make sure to look for insurance companies that offer the multi-car discount.

For more information: North Dakota Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What is the minimum liability insurance coverage?
The minimum liability insurance coverage for the state of North Dakota is as follows:

  • $25,000 per person
  • $50,000 per accident, bodily injury
  • $25,000 per accident, property damage

You must be able to show proof ofthe minimum liabilitycar insurance, if pulled over by a law enforcement official.

For more information: North Dakota Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What proof of insurance can I provide when registering my car?
The state of North Dakota does not require residents to provide proof of insurance when they register their vehicle. However, drivers must have the minimum liability insurance on their vehicle. Drivers are required to show proof of insurance, if pulled over by a law enforcement official for a separate violation.

For more information: North Dakota Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What type of car insurance am I required to have?
North Dakota drivers are required to have the propercar insurance and be able to provide proof of minimum liability insurance coverage, if asked for it by a law enforcement officer who stops you for another violation. Care insurance policy must include no-fault coverage.

For more information: North Dakota Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What will happen if I fail to get or keep car insurance?
Drivers in North Dakota who fail to obtain or keep car insurance on their vehicle, face getting caught driving without insurance, which is against the law. The state of North Dakota requires that all motor vehicles carry at least the minimum liability car insurance.

If you are cited for driving without the proper car insurance,your car tags may be suspended or revoked by the Motor Vehicle Division. Additionally, your driving record may be assessed six, 12, or 14 points for driving without liability insurance and you will be required to show proof of insurance with the MVD for the next three years.

For more information: North Dakota Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Which types of vehicles need to be insured?
Vehicles in North Dakota that are required to have proper car insurance and meet the minimum liability insurance coverage includes vehicle operated on:

  • Public streets.
  • Highways.
  • Roads.
  • Off-highway roads.

Contact your car insurance company for more information on policies rates for different types of vehicles.

For more information: North Dakota Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save