Frequently Asked Questions

Am I required to take a motorcycle training course?
Only certain Minnesota motorcycle driving license applicants are required to take Motorcycle Safety Center Basic Rider Course. This group is limited to motorcycle operators under the age of 18. However, applicants over 18 can also choose to take a Basic Rider Course. The reason that they would do so is to waive the need for a riding skills exam. The Department of Public Safety allows applicants over the age of 18 to choose between taking a rider course or the driving test when obtaining a motorcycle license

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Minnesota

Am I required to wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle?
There are certain instances in which the Minnesota Department of Public Safety requires residents to wear helmets. All motorcycle instruction permit holders, for instance are required by law to wear a DOT-approved helmet. The same restriction goes for Minnesota motorcycle license holders under the age of 18. Additionally, moped operators under the age of 18 must abide by this law as well. Both of these riders must wear a DOT-approved helmet at all times.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Minnesota

Can I renew my commercial drivers license online?
No, you may not. While most states typically offer drivers the opportunity to renew standard driving credentials in a number of ways, the state of Minnesota limits applicants to one method of renewing a commercial drivers license. Each commercial driver must visit a local DVS office. Once here, he or she will have to provide payment, proof of medical certification and other necessary documents to complete the process.

For more information: How to Renew a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) in Minnesota

Can I take the DMV written test online?
No. The state of Minnesota requires drivers to take the written knowledge exam in person when applying for an MN learning permit. Fortunately, testing locations can be found throughout the state.

For more information: Minnesota DMV Office Contact Information

Can I use my state CDL anywhere in the United States?
The answer depends on the Minnesota CDL license in question. If you are 18 and 21 years of and have an intrastate license, your commercial credentials will only be recognized by your state of residence. However, if you are at least 21 and hold an interstate commercial drivers license, then your license will be accepted across the country. Keep these privileges in mind when applying for commercial licensing.

For more information: Minnesota Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Do I need a motorcycle license to ride a scooter or moped?
No, you do not. In the state of Minnesota, the Department of Public Safety does not require moped operators to obtain an MN motorcycle drivers license. However, they do need to have one of three credentials in order to operate one of these vehicles legally. The accepted credentials include:

  • A moped permit
  • A moped operators license
  • A Class D drivers license

If you are caught operating a moped without one of the above, you will be fined.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Minnesota

Do I need to take a drivers ed course?
Drivers under the age of 18 are required by the state of Minnesota to enroll in and complete a drivers ed course. Additionally, residents must be at least 15 years of age in order to apply.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Minnesota

How can I get a veteran designation on my ID card?
The steps to obtain a veteran designation on Minnesota identification cards are very simple. The first step is to visit a DVS office that is nearby. Once at the office, each veteran applicant must provide the following:

  • Discharge papers, showing honorable discharge
  • Proof of identity, including one primary and one secondary document
  • Payment for the applicable fee

Veterans can perform this process when renewing, replacing or ordering a new ID card.

For more information: How to Apply for a Minnesota Identification Card

How do I apply for a commercial drivers license?
The process to apply for a commercial driving license in Minnesota is as follows:

  1. Pass the written knowledge exam.
  2. Written exams will also be given to those applying for endorsements.
  3. Visit a local DVS office and provide the following:
  4. Hold the commercial permit for at least 14 days.
  5. Pass the road skills test.
  6. Pay the applicable fee.

For more information: Minnesota Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How do I apply for a learner’s permit?
In order to apply for a driving permit in Minnesota, one must be at least 15 years of age and follow the steps below:

  • If under 18, log 30 hours of classroom instruction and take behind-the-wheel lessons.
    • Drivers under 18 can also be enrolled in a concurrent drivers ed class, as long as they have completed the first 15 class hours.
  • Show proof of course completion, if applicable.
  • Provide proof of ID:
    • One primary document (birth certificate)
    • One secondary document (Social Security card)
    • English translations for documents presented in other languages
    • Extra proof of legal status (DS-2019)
  • Pass a vision test.
  • Pass the written knowledge exam.
  • Fill out the drivers permit application.
  • Pay the applicable fees.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Minnesota

How do I apply for a motorcycle license?
The process to apply for a motorcycle license in Minnesota is simple. Just follow the steps below:

  • Pass the state written knowledge test to obtain a motorcycle instruction permit.
  • If you are 18 or older, pass a riding skills test or pass a Basic Rider Course.
    • Applicants under 18 must take a rider course and pass the riding skills test.
    • Applicants over the age 18 who take the rider course must provide their drivers license when taking the BRC final skills exam.
  • Pay the duplicate fee to get the motorcycle endorsement on your license.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Minnesota

How do I get a duplicate ID card?
In the event that your Minnesota ID card was lost, stolen or destroyed, it is your responsibility to apply for a replacement credential. To do so, you must visit a local DVS office. Applicants cannot submit forms online or by mail. As for the requirements to apply, they are:

  • One primary form of identification, such as:
    • Birth certificate
    • US passport
  • One secondary form of identification, such as:
    • Another primary document
    • Social Security card
  • A verification of your photo and signature.
  • Payment for the fee.

For more information: How to Apply for a Minnesota Identification Card

How do I renew my driving permit?
If your learners permit has expired, visit a local DPS office in order to renew your credentials. You will have to undergo a vision test to make sure that your sight is still sufficient for safe driving.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Minnesota

How do I renew my ID card?
The process to renew ID card cannot be done online or by mail. Instead, residents must visit a local DVS office and provide the following:

  • Payment for the renewal
  • A valid Social Security Number
  • The current Minnesota ID card

For more information: How to Apply for a Minnesota Identification Card

How do I renew my medical report for a commercial license?
The process of renewing a medical report is simple. When a commercial driver finds that it is time to do so, they must simply get in contact with a licensed physician. The physician must then complete an examination to determine whether or not the driver s CDL license should remain in place, based on the driver s health. If the resident driver is in good health, he or she may submit the report to the Minnesota DVS office with the expectation of renewing their CDL.

For more information: Minnesota Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How do I renew my motorcycle license?
Minnesota motorcycle licenses are renewed in the same way as standard licenses. Drivers must visit a nearby DVS office, because the process cannot be completed online or by mail. Once at the office, applicants must take the following steps:

  1. Provide their current motorcycle drivers license and Social Security Number.
  2. Take a vision test.
  3. Submit a renewal application, which can be found at the DVS office.
  4. Pay the renewal fee.

For more information: How to Renew/Replace a Motorcycle License in Minnesota

How does a military member obtain a motorcycle license?
Within the state of Minnesota, military members are required to go through the same steps as civilians when it comes to applying for a Minnesota motorcycle license. They must pass a written knowledge exam. If they are under 18, they must take a rider course and pass a riding test. If they are above 18, they can choose between the rider course and the riding test. Finally, all applicants must pay duplicate license fee in order to obtain a credential that features the motorcycle endorsement.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Minnesota

How long do I need my learners permit before I can get my drivers license?
The amount of time one must hold a learners permit for depends on the age of the driver in question. The breakdown is as follows:

  • Drivers under 18 must have a learning permit for at least six months, without any moving violation or alcohol/substance convictions.
  • Drivers who are 18 must hold a permit for at least six months.
  • Drivers who are 19 or older must hold a permit for at least three months.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Minnesota

How long will it take to get my new ID card?
The amount of time that one can expect to wait for a Minnesota ID card varies. For no reason other than a busy season, some credentials may take longer to process and ship than others. In order to make sure that you receive an identification card promptly, applicants can use the Fast Track program. By paying an additional $20, applicants can ensure that their credentials are processed within three business days and delivered within 10. It is up to you to decide whether or not expedited service is worth the cost.

For more information: How to Apply for a Minnesota Identification Card

How often do I need to renew my CDL license?
In the state of Minnesota, commercial drivers licenses are valid for a period of four years. They expire four years after they are issued, on the date of your birth. As for how early drivers can go through the renewal process, Driver and Vehicle Services allows them to do so at any time. As long as you are over the age of 21, you can renew your CDL license whenever you want. If you are under the age of 21, you must renew on your 21st birthday.

For more information: How to Renew a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) in Minnesota

If I’m out of state and lost my ID, how can I get a new one?
In the event you have lost your MN ID card while outside of the state, there is one way to obtain a duplicate. You can either renew or replace your credentials by submitting an Out-Of-State ID Card application packet. By doing so, Driver and Vehicle Services will use your current photo and signature for the new card.

One thing to keep in mind if you are renewing ID card credentials is that you must visit a DVS office within 30 days of your return. When you do, you will be asked to take a new picture.

For more information: How to Apply for a Minnesota Identification Card

Is there a minimum age I have to be to get a commercial drivers license?
Yes, there is. In order to obtain a commercial drivers license in Minnesota, a driver must be at least 18 years old. Additionally, there is one more age requirement regarding the operation of commercial vehicles. While being 18 and passing the necessary exams will get you an intrastate license, drivers must be at least 21 in order to obtain an interstate credential. The interstate CDL license allows them to operate commercial vehicles across state lines.

For more information: Minnesota Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the age restrictions to ride a motorcycle?
The only age restriction associated with operating a motorcycle in Minnesota concerns applicants who are under the age of 18. Motorcycle license seekers 18 and above can apply without taking a Minnesota Motorcycle Safety Center Basic Rider Course. However, applicants under 18 are required to enroll in the class. Additionally, they must provide proof of enrollment when going to obtain their Minnesota motorcycle drivers license. Without proof of their class completion, they will not be allowed to obtain these credentials.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Minnesota

What are the available commercial license endorsements?
There are a few different MN commercial drivers license classes to choose from when applying. Additionally, there are also a number of different endorsements. They are as follows:

  • Hazardous Materials (H Endorsement).
  • Double/Triples (T Endorsement).
  • Passenger Transport (P Endorsement).
  • School Bus (S Endorsement).
  • Tank Vehicle (N Endorsement).
  • Tanker and Hazardous Materials (X Endorsement).

To obtain any endorsement, one must complete the necessary testing requirements and pay the applicable fee.

For more information: Minnesota Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the fees associated with an ID card?
Fees are always an important part of obtaining credentials from Driver and Vehicle Services. In the state of Minnesota, the DVS has three separate charges associated with obtaining an MN ID card. The three different costs were divided based on the age of all applicants. In order to find out how much you must pay for an identification card, look at the chart below:

  • If you are under the age of 65: $20.25
  • If you are 65 years old or older: $16.50
  • If you have a mental illness or a physical or developmental disability: $0.50

For more information: How to Apply for a Minnesota Identification Card

What are the learners permit restrictions during my first year?
Drivers under the age of 18 must have a licensed supervisor present at all times. This supervisor must be at least 21 years old. Additionally, all passengers must wear seat belts or child restraints, and the driver is not allowed to talk on a cellphone at any time while operating the vehicle, even if the device is hands free. Drivers who are 18 or older must abide by the same restrictions. The only difference is that their supervisors must be at least 18, not 21.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Minnesota

What are the medical certifications required to obtain a CDL?
In order to apply for a CDL license in Minnesota, one must provide a number of important documents. First, the driver must give a complete Commercial Driver License Medical Self-certification Form in order to apply. In certain cases, a Medical Examiner Certificate is also necessary in order to obtain commercial driving credentials. In these cases, a licensed physician must sign off on your health condition.

For more information: Minnesota Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the penalties for getting a traffic ticket with a driver’s permit?
The penalties associated with incurring citations when holding a learners permit are not very different from those that licensed drivers receive. These learning drivers must pay the necessary fines and wait out suspensions, when necessary. One key difference between the two is that beginner drivers who receive tickets will have to wait longer to apply for an unrestricted Minnesota driving license. Teen drivers who obtain provisional licenses must drive for 12 months without any accidents or tickets to move up to the next level of licensing.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Minnesota

What are the requirements to operate a three-wheel motorcycle?
There is one main requirement that applicants should be aware of if they are planning on operating a three-wheel motorcycle, also known as a trike: They must be licensed to legally use this vehicle. Fortunately, there are three different types of credentials accepted by the Minnesota Department of Public Safety. These include:

  • A motorcycle instruction permit.
  • A Minnesota motorcycle endorsement.
  • Another credential that state “also valid for 3 wheel motorcycle.”

Operating a trike without one of the above licenses will result in a fine.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Minnesota

What documents do I need to get a learner’s permit?
In addition to a Minnesota drivers permit application, one must also provide the following documents:

  • One primary document with your name and date of birth (no photocopies):
    • Birth certificate
    • Passport
  • One secondary document (no photocopy):
    • Social Security card
    • Marriage certificate
  • Additional proof of legal status, for temporary US residents:
    • I-20
    • DS-2019
    • I-797
  • English translations, for documents presented in other languages
  • Drivers ed completion certificate

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Minnesota

What documents do I need to get a motorcycle license?
Motorcycle operators are only required to present a few documents when applying for a motorcycle endorsement in Minnesota. If you are over the age of 18 and choose not to take a rider course, you must show your motorcycle permit and drivers license at the exam station. On the other hand, drivers who decide to take the Basic Rider Course must show proof of course completion when they are applying for credentials. Other than these documents, you are not required to bring any other credentials to the DVS office, and bring payment for the motorcycle license fee.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Minnesota

What exams do I need to pass to get a motorcycle license?
There are two exams that MN motorcycle endorsement seekers must pass in order to obtain credentials. These include the road skills motorcycle test and the written knowledge exam. It should be noted that applicants over the age of 18 are not required to take the riding skills exam if they pass a Minnesota Motorcycle Safety Center Basic Rider Course. However, residents under the age of 18 do not have this option.

In addition to these two exams, applicants will also have to pass a vision screening before they are given a standard Minnesota drivers license.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Minnesota

What happens to my commercial driver license if I am convicted of a DUI?
There are multiple consequences for commercial drivers who are caught driving under the influence in the state of Minnesota. The most important punishment is drivers license suspension. The length of time that a driver will have his or her privileges suspended varies on the situation.

For a breakdown, consult the list below:

  • First offenses result in a one-year drivers license suspension.
  • First offenses that occur while transporting hazardous materials result in a three-year suspension.

For more information: Minnesota Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What is an ID card?
The Minnesota ID card is an important identification document for any resident of the state who does not hold a drivers license. This credential shows a non-driver s full name, their date of birth and their address. Thus, it can be used as a primary form of identification when visiting a Driver and Vehicle Services office, a passport agency and more. For your convenience, the process to apply for this card is simple and easy.

For more information: How to Apply for a Minnesota Identification Card

What is the passing score for a written test?
In order to get a Minnesota learners permit, one must pass the written knowledge test. The minimum percentage of questions that one must answer correctly to pass the written exam is 80 percent.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Minnesota

What test do I need to take for my learners permit?
In order to obtain a driving permit in Minnesota, one must pass a vision screening and the written knowledge exam. The written exam will test applicants on information featured in the Minnesota Driver s Manual, including traffic signs and road regulations.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Minnesota

What tests do I have to take to obtain a CDL?
Testing is a crucial component of obtaining your CDL license in Minnesota. In order to get commercial driving privileges, applicants must take at least two important exams. These are the written knowledge test and the road skills exam. In addition to these tests, additional exams are required of those drivers who want to obtain endorsements to drive specific kinds of vehicles or transport certain materials.

For more information: Minnesota Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

When does my ID card expire?
The date that a Minnesota ID card is set to expire varies based on one crucial factor: age. Expiration solely depends on how old you were when you obtained your current identification card. The breakdown from MN Driver and Vehicle Services is as follows:

  • If you were under the age of 21 when you received the card, it expires when you become 21 years old.
  • If you were under the age of 65 when you obtained your card, it expires four years after it was issued.
  • If you were over the age of 65 upon issuance, your ID card does not expire.

For more information: How to Apply for a Minnesota Identification Card

Where can I obtain an ID card?
The state of Minnesota only allows residents to apply for ID cardcredentials in one way: in person. The process cannot be completed online via a digital portal. Applicants cannot submit forms by mail, and requests by phone are not allowed. In order to obtain an ID card in Minnesota, you must visit a nearby DVS office. When doing so, remember to bring one primary and one secondary proof of identification and payment for the applicable fee.

For more information: How to Apply for a Minnesota Identification Card

Who can sign for my permit or license if I am under 18?
Any driver that is under the age of 18 must have signed consent from one of the following parties:

  • A parent
  • A legal guardian
  • A foster parent appointed by the county
  • A director of a transitional living program

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Minnesota