DMV Practice Test Only $14.99
- Get the Official DMV.com Study Guide.
- BONUS - FREE access to the Road Signs Practice Test
Drivers licenses are required of all Virginia residents who wish to operate a motor vehicle in the state. A new drivers license is issued only when a driver fulfills all of the requirements set by the VA Department Motor Vehicles. Getting drivers license privileges in Virginia depends upon the successful completion of a series of exams, as well as the driving applicant's ability to provide proof of identity and residential address. You need to complete a drivers permit application if you are younger than the age of 18 and have never had a driver's license before.
NOTE: Greatly increase your chances of passing the mandatory written exam by taking one of our DMV practice tests.
How to Apply for a Virginia Learner's Permit:
- Be at least 15 years and six months of age.
- Provide proof of completing a driver education course (if younger than 18).
- Present the required documentation.
- Pass the two-part written DMV exam.
- Pass a vision exam.
- Pay Virginia driver's license fees.
Applying for an VA Learner's Permit
Driving applicants who apply for a Virginia learners permit must also complete the application process for a VA driver's license and are required to pay the fees for both. A minor younger than 18 may be granted a full driver's license when he or she:
- Is at least 16 years and three months of age.
- Has had a learners permit for at least nine months.
- Can present a completed driver education certificate signed by a parent or guardian.
Learners permit holders who meet the above requirements will receive a notice to attend a Juvenile Licensing Ceremony with a parent or legal guardian in order to receive their full VA drivers license.
How to Get an VA Learners Permit
Learners Permit Requirements in Virginia
The initial VA learning permit process consists of the following rules and requirements:
- You must be at least 15 years and six months of age to apply.
- Provide proof of completing a Virginia state-approved driver education course.
- Have a parent or legal guardian sign the driver's ed certificate to certify your completion of at least 45 hours of behind the wheel experience, 15 of which must be conducted at night.
- Pass the two-part written knowledge exam and a vision test.
- Present documents that confirm your identity, Social Security Number, lawful presence in the United States and Virginia state residency.
- Pay the fees.
- Have a parent or legal guardian sign your learners permit application (unless have documented proof that you are married or emancipated).
Preparing for a Virginia DMV Written Exam
To get a drivers permit in Virginia you must pass a two-part state written knowledge exam. Part One of the DMV written exam consists of ten traffic sign questions, and driving applicants must answer all questions correctly to move on to Part Two. Part two of the written exam includes questions about motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. Driving applicants must get at least 80 percent of the Part Two questions right in order to receive a passing score.
The best way to prepare for the Virginia DMV written exam is by taking one of our practice tests. Our DMV practice test can help you take your exam with confidence because touches upon traffic laws and traffic signs content that will be featured on the official exam.
The two-part written knowledge exam can be completed at your local VA Department of Motor Vehicles office. For your convenience, click here to see a list of DMV offices closest to you.
Be Prepared! Study with our DMV practice test and we guarantee you'll pass!
VA Drivers Education
In order to obtain a DMV learners permit, new drivers must complete a state-approved driver's ed course prior to taking the required two-part written exam. Virginia driver education programs consist of 36 classroom periods, with 14 in-car instruction periods, and are offered at public or private training schools.
Virginia Learners Permit Restrictions
A Virginia permit for driving allows new drivers to operate a motor vehicle only when accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age and occupying the passenger's seat. If the accompanying driver is your legal guardian, sibling or step sibling, then he or she may be only 18 years of age.
Note: Once you are at least 16 years and three months of age, have held a learners permit for at least nine months and completed your drivers ed course, you are eligible to receive a full drivers license.
Replacing an VA Learners Permit
In the case that your Virginia learners permit becomes lost, stolen or damaged, you can request a learners permit replacement from your local DMV customer service center or online. Note that replacement fees will apply.
Locate a Virginia DMV
You can speak to a DMV representative or get specific office hours and locations to the VA DMV branch nearest you by clicking here.