What are Pennsylvania drivers education courses?
Drivers education is offered by the Pennsylvania Department of Education for drivers who would like to practice safer driving habits. Drivers ed in Pennsylvania covers important topics such as road rules, drug abuse awareness, alcohol safety and more. As part of driving school, PA residents will be required to complete supervised "behind the wheel" training and driving classes in order to be issued a drivers license by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT).
Benefits of Taking Pennsylvania Drivers Education Courses
Completing a PA drivers ed program may benefit you in the following ways:
- A PA driver's license may be issued to first-time drivers.
- Drivers may receive a discount on their car insurance.
- Drivers may be granted a point reduction on their driving record.
About Pennsylvania Drivers Education Courses
Pennsylvania drivers education courses are available to residents who are younger than 18 years of age. The PA drivers ed program provides information such as safe driving skills and important road rules that first-time drivers must be familiar with to earn a driving license. Drivers ed classes are offered by public high schools throughout the state, private drivers safety training schools and online approved driving schools.
What do you learn take a Pennsylvania Drivers Ed course?
Drivers ed classes approved by the PennDOT serve to help drivers improve their overall driving skills. Pennsylvania drivers education is offered in person at public high schools, PA-approved private drivers training programs in person and online. PA traffic school courses cover topics, such as:
- Defensive driving skills.
- How to safety operate a vehicle.
- Pennsylvania traffic laws.
- Road rules.
Did you know? Before applying for a full-unrestricted drivers license in PA, drivers must have held a junior drivers license for at least one year, and they must have completed a state-approved drivers ed program. Click here to enroll in driving classes online today.
Pennsylvania Drivers Education Course Insurance Discounts
Drivers who attend drivers ed in Pennsylvania may be granted a discount on their auto insurance, depending on their insurance provider. First-time drivers usually face higher car insurance premiums and can benefit greatly by attending a drivers education course, which may result in an auto insurance discount.To find out if you are eligible to receive a discount, contact your vehicle insurance provider and present your case.
Enrolling in Pennsylvania Drivers Education Courses
How to Enroll in Pennsylvania Drivers Ed
To enroll in drivers ed classes in Pennsylvania, drivers can contact their local DMV or a third-party drivers ed school that is approved by the state. First-time drivers also have the option of applying online through state-approved drivers education providers. DMV.com offers an online drivers education course, for more information click here. If you are a drivers license applicant under 18 years of age, you are required to complete a driver safety training course.
Online Drivers Ed vs. in Person
Pennsylvania drivers education courses are available both in person and online. In-person driving classes are offered by public high schools and private third-party providers. Some third-party providers offer strictly online driving courses. The drivers ed program consists of 30 hours of classroom theory instruction and no less than six hours of "behind the wheel" instruction.
To enroll in an approved online driving course today, click here.
Cost of A Drivers Education Course
The cost of drivers ed in Pennsylvania varies, depending on which public or private drivers ed school you choose to attend. To find out the exact costs, contact the school of your choosing.
Drivers Education Requirements
State-approved drivers education courses must be completed by drivers license applicants in Pennsylvania who are younger than 18 years of age. Drivers ed applicants must:
- Complete 30 hours of classroom theory instruction
- 6 hours of "behind the wheel" instruction.
Drivers Ed Certificates
First-time drivers who complete a Pennsylvania drivers ed course will receive a drivers ed certificate of completion. Submit this drivers education certificate to a local PennDOT office in order to be eligible to take the written exam and obtain a PA drivers license. Residents must attend a state-approved drivers ed program to receive a valid certificate of completion.
Drivers Ed Eligibility
Drivers ed eligibility in Pennsylvania varies depending on your specific situation. The PA DMV requires all drivers' license applicants younger than 18 years of age to complete a drivers education program approved by the state.
Did you know? To reduce points on your Pennsylvania driving record, drivers also have the option to take our state-approved defensive driving course.
Where do I find a Pennsylvania-approved drivers education course?
Drivers can find Pennsylvania-approved driving courses by visiting a PA DMV office to obtain more information. Applicants can also contact private third-party drivers education providers to enroll in driving classes within the state.
Driver's Ed and Point Reduction
Does a driver's education course remove a ticket?
A Pennsylvania drivers education class will not be able to remove a ticket. However, attending a state-approved traffic school may remove a recent traffic violation you have been convicted of from your driving record, depending on your specific situation.
How many times can I take a traffic school course or driver's ed course?
The amount of times you can enroll in PA traffic school or a drivers ed course will vary based on your reason for applying and the specific course you intend to take.
DUIs and Drivers Ed
DUI offenders in Pennsylvania are required to attend an Alcohol Highway Safety School in order to reinstate a revoked or suspended drivers license. This course is a structured educational program that serves to teach DUI offenders about the problems of alcohol/drug use and driving. The Alcohol Highway Safety School course will take you no less than 12 Â½ hours to complete, and it can be taken either in person or online. Upon completion of this course, drivers will receive a certificate of completion, which they must present to the PA DMV in order to have their drivers license reinstated.
The completion of drivers education courses may not serve to reinstate suspended or revoked drivers licenses in PA.
Can I remove a parking ticket if I take a traffic school course or driver's ed?
A parking ticket may not be removed by attending a Pennsylvania drivers education course. Only traffic tickets may be dismissed.