What are Nevada drivers education courses?
Register for drivers ed with the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in order to apply for a license to drive and learn safe driving techniques. Drivers ed in Nevada covers vital information, such as state traffic laws, drug abuse awareness, alcohol safety and more. As part of drivers training, all NV residents under 18 years of age are required to complete a state-approved drivers education program to be issued a driving permit, drivers license or driver authorization card.
Benefits of Taking Nevada Drivers Education Courses
Enrolling in an NV drivers ed program may benefit you in the following ways:
- First-time drivers will be issued a NV drivers license.
- Drivers may receive a discount on their car insurance.
- Drivers may be granted a point reduction on their driving record.
About Nevada Drivers Education Courses
Nevada drivers ed classes are available to residents who are younger than 18 years of age. The NV drivers ed program provides information on safe driving tips, traffic laws and important road rules that first-time drivers must be familiar with to earn a drivers license. Drivers ed classes are offered by public and private high schools throughout the state, private driver safety training schools and online approved driving schools.
What Is Taught In a NV Drivers Ed Class
Drivers ed courses approved by the NV DMV serve to help drivers improve their overall driving skills. A Nevada drivers ed program is offered in person, at NV-approved defensive driving training programs, as well as online. NV traffic school courses cover topics, such as:
- Defensive driving skills.
- DUI regulations.
- Nevada traffic laws.
- Road rules.
Did you know? Drivers must complete a state-approved drivers ed program before applying for a drivers license in NV. Click here to enroll in driving classes online today.
Nevada Drivers Education Course Insurance Discounts
Drivers who enroll in Nevada drivers ed classes may be granted a discount on their auto insurance, depending on their vehicle insurance provider. First-time drivers are usually more prone to receiving higher car insurance premiums and can benefit greatly by completing drivers ed, which may result in an auto insurance discount. To find out if you are eligible to receive a discount, contact your car insurance provider and present your case.
Enrolling in Nevada Drivers Education Courses
to Enroll NV Drivers Ed
To enroll in drivers training in Nevada, drivers can contact their local DMV, a public or private high school or a third-party drivers ed school that is approved by the state. First-time drivers also have the option of applying online through state-approved drivers education providers. To enroll in a state-approved online drivers ed course, click here.
Driver safety training courses are required for all drivers license applicants younger than 18 years of age.
Online Drivers Ed Course vs. in Person
Nevada driver's education courses are available both in person and online. In-person safe driving classes are offered by public and private high schools and third-party providers. Some third-party providers offer strictly online driving courses. First-time drivers who choose to take an online drivers ed class are still required to complete 50 hours of "behind-the-wheel" training in order to be eligible to receive a drivers license.
To enroll in an approved online driving course today, click here.
Cost of a Drivers Education Course
The cost of drivers ed in Nevada varies, depending on which public or private driving school you choose to attend. To find out the exact costs, contact the certified driving school of your choosing.
Nevada Drivers Ed Requirements
Nevada-approved drivers education courses must be completed by drivers license applicants between the ages of 15 and 17. Drivers younger than 18 years of age must complete a drivers training program that consists of 30 hours of classroom instruction and 50 hours of "behind-the-wheel" training. Some NV private schools offer drivers ed courses that consist of only 15 hours of classroom instruction and five hours of "behind-the-wheel" training. Driving schools that require less instruction hours must be approved by the state DMV.
Drivers Ed Certificates
Nevada drivers ed courses taken by first-time drivers online or in person will provide a drivers ed certificate of completion upon finishing the course. Submit this drivers education certificate to a local NV DMV office in order to be eligible to take the written exam and obtain an NV drivers license. Certain NV high schools may or may not issue a drivers ed certificate of completion. A report card or official transcript showing the completion of a drivers ed program is also acceptable for driver's license applicants.
NV Drivers Ed Eligibility
Drivers ed eligibility in Nevada requires all driving license applicants between 15 and 17 years of age to complete a drivers education program approved by the state. It is mandatory for first-time drivers to complete 30 hours of classroom instruction and 50 hours of "behind-the-wheel" training. First-time drivers who do not have access to a drivers ed course within 30 miles of their residence have the option to complete 100 hours of supervised driving experience.
Types of Drivers Education Courses Offered in Nevada
The NV DMV offers a drivers education course that consists of the following:
- 30 hours of classroom drivers ed instruction.
- 50 hours of "behind-the-wheel" instruction.
- 100 hours of driving experience.
Where do I find a Nevada-approved drivers education course?
Drivers can find Nevada-approved driving courses online or by visiting an NV DMV office to obtain more information. Applicants can also contact private drivers education providers to enroll in driving classes within the state.
Driver's Ed and Traffic Violations
Does a driver's education course remove a ticket?
Completing Nevada drivers ed classes will not remove a ticket from your driving history. However, attending a state-approved traffic school may remove a recent traffic violation you have been convicted of from your driving record, depending on your specific situation.
How many times can I take a traffic school course or driver's ed course?
The amount of times you can enroll in NV traffic school or a drivers education course will vary based on your reason for applying and the specific course you intend to take.
DUIs and Drivers Ed
DUI offenders in Nevada may be required to complete a state-approved DUI education program in order to reinstate a revoked or suspended drivers license. Other penalties you may face if you are convicted of a DUI include:
- Jail time.
- Community service/parole.
- Reinstatement fees.
The completion of drivers education courses may not serve to reinstate suspended or revoked drivers licenses in NV.