What are Minnesota drivers education courses?
Minnesota drivers ed is offered to first-time drivers by the Department of Public Safety (DPS). The curriculum for both Minnesota driver schools and drivers training courses is established by the DPS. The MN DMV requires all drivers between the ages of 15 and 17 to successfully complete a state-approved drivers ed program as part of the graduated drivers licensing (GDL) system.
Benefits of Taking Minnesota Drivers Education Courses
Completing an MN drivers ed program may benefit you in the following ways:
- First-time drivers will be issued a learners permit.
- Drivers may receive a discount on their car insurance.
- Drivers may be granted a point reduction on their driving record.
About Minnesota Drivers Education Courses
Minnesota drivers education courses are available in person and online. First-time drivers are eligible to take the written exam to earn a learners permit once they successfully complete driving school and are at least 16 years of age. Drivers ed programs in Minnesota offer information on how to practice safe driving, as well as details on MN traffic laws and state-specific road sign meanings.
What you will learn taking a Drivers Ed Course?
Drivers ed courses approved by the Minnesota Department of Public Safety serve to help drivers improve their overall driving skills. Drivers can take drivers education classes in Minnesota either online or in person.
Minnesota-approved driving courses cover topics, including:
- Defensive techniques.
- How to safety operate a vehicle.
- Minnesota traffic laws.
- Road rules.
Minnesota Drivers Education Course Insurance Discounts
By attending drivers ed in the state of Minnesota, your auto insurance provider may grant you a discount on your car insurance. First-time drivers usually face higher vehicle insurance premiums and can benefit greatly by attending a drivers ed course, which may result in an auto coverage discount. To find out if you are eligible to receive a discount, contact your auto insurance provider and present your case.
Enrolling in Minnesota Drivers Education Courses
How to Enroll in MN Drivers Ed
To enroll in a Minnesota drivers ed program, drivers can contact their local DMV or a third-party drivers ed school that is approved by the state. DMV.com features its own DPS-approved online drivers ed program, which you can enroll in today.
Online Minnesota Drivers Ed vs. in Person
Drivers in Minnesota have the option of enrolling in drivers ed programs online, at a public or private school, or at a licensed driver training school. All types of courses will cover the same core material and will be deemed acceptable in order to be issued an MN drivers license. Minnesota drivers ed classes can even be taken online through an MN-approved driving school. Click here to enroll today.
Cost of a Drivers Ed Course
The cost of driver's education in Minnesota varies depending on which public or private secondary drivers ed school you choose to attend. To find out the exact costs, contact the school of your choosing.
MN Drivers Education Requirements
Drivers ed requirements in Minnesota include completing the appropriate number of classroom and behind-the-wheel instruction hours.
If you are applying for a learning permit, you must:
- Be at least 15 years of age.
- Successfully complete the classroom instruction portion of the drivers ed program.
- Enroll in the behind-the-wheel instruction portion.
Once you obtain an MN driving permit, you may begin to complete the behind-the-wheel instruction hours as required.
Drivers Ed Certificates
First-time drivers will receive a driver's ed certificate when they complete a Minnesota drivers ed class. The certificate then must be submited to the MN DPS in order to be eligible to take the drivers exam and obtain an MN learners permit.
Drivers Ed Eligibility
To apply for a learners permit in Minnesota, applicants must be between 15 and 17 years of age. First, drivers need to complete a state-approved drivers ed course and pass the required written drivers test to be issued a driving permit.
Types of Drivers Education Courses Offered in Minnesota
The Minnesota DMV offers a drivers education course, which requires drivers to complete a certain number of classroom instruction hours and behind-the-wheel professional instruction hours. The in-classroom portion of this course must be completed before you submit your application for a Minnesota learner's permit.
Where do I find a Minnesota-approved drivers education course?
Drivers can find Minnesota drivers education courses by visiting a public or private school or an MN DMV office to obtain more information. MN-approved drivers ed classes can also be found and taken online.
Driver's Ed and Traffic Violations
Does a driver's education course remove a ticket?
A Minnesota drivers education course will not remove a recent traffic violation you have been convicted of from your driving record. Only by completing a traffic school course that is approved by the DPS can you dismiss the ticket.
How many times can I take a traffic school course or driver's ed course?
The number of MN traffic school or drivers ed classes you can take varies based on your reason for enrolling and the specific type of course you intend to take.
DUIs and Drivers Ed
DUIs in Minnesota are considered very serious crimes. If you are convicted of a DUI, you may be faced with penalties, which include:
- Completing a chemical health assessment program.
- Jail time.
- Community service/parole.
- Reinstatement fees.
- Ignition interlock device installment.
- Drivers license suspension.
The completion of drivers education classes will not serve to reinstate a drivers license in Minnesota. For more information about MN traffic school and what courses to take if convicted of a DUI, click here.