DMV.com is a privately owned website.* Privacy

Applying for a Kansas New Driver’s License – Under 18

DMV Practice Test Only $14.99

  • Get the Official DMV.com Study Guide.
  • BONUS - FREE access to the Road Signs Practice Test

New drivers license applicants younger than 17 years of age must participate in the KS Graduated Driver License (GDL) program. Beginning at 14 years of age, applicants are eligible for an instruction permit. Learner drivers can apply for a restricted drivers license once they have fulfilled the requirements of the GDL program. Driving applicants younger than 16 years of age must get written permission from their parent or legal guardian to obtain a driving permit.

Did you know? Getting a copy of our driving permit practice test will make you 5x more likely to pass the KS knowledge test on your first try.

How to Apply for a Kansas Instruction Permit:

  • Be at least 14 years of age.
  • Get parental consent if younger than 16 years of age.
  • Present the required documentation.
  • Pass the written knowledge test or show proof of enrollment in a state-approved driver's ed class.
  • Pass the vision screening.
  • Pay instruction permit fee.

Applying for a KS Instruction Permit

To obtain an instruction permit for driving in Kansas, applicants must be at least 14 years of age. The instructional permit is also the initial phase in the graduated driver license program. After the learning permit is the restricted drivers license, finally the non-restricted license with full Class C driving privileges.

What is the Graduate Driver License Program in Kansas?

The KS DOR graduated driver license program is comprised of various stages of licensure to which residents younger than 17 years of age must adhere to. The phases of the graduated driver license program are as follows:

  • Instruction permit.
  • Restricted driver's license.
  • Non-restricted driver's license.

The requirements to graduate through the program include following a set of restrictions, such as the time of day the learner driver can operate a vehicle and the age of passenger he or she may transport.

How to Get a KS Instruction Permit

Instruction Permit Requirements in Kansas

Getting an instruction permit requires that driving applicants meet the following set of qualifications:

  • Be at least 14 years of age.
  • Get a parent or legal guardian signature at the time of application if applicant is younger than 16 years of age.
  • Pass a vision test.
  • Pass the written exam or bring completed DE99 form as proof of current enrollment in a certified driver education course.
  • Present documents that confirm your identity, legal presence, Social Security Number and state residency.
  • Pay instruction permit fees.

Preparing for a Kansas DMV Written Exam

To get an instruction permit in Kansas, you will have to pass a written test. The knowledge exam consists of questions on traffic laws as well as questions on road sign identification.

To fully prepare for the exam, consider taking the practice test at least a few times. Our DMV driving practice test covers all of the traffic safety and rules of the road information that you will encounter on test day. With our pretest you can rest assure in knowing that you will receive a thorough overview of the Kansas Driving Handbook.

The Kansas written drivers test is administered at driver license exam stations located throughout the state. To locate a KS DOR facility near you, click here.

Be Prepared! Study with our DMV practice test and we guarantee you'll pass!

KS Drivers Education

Teen drivers who hold an instruction permit must complete a state-approved driver's education course if they plan to apply for a restricted drivers license at 15 years of age. An accepted driver training school must be accredited with the Kansas Department of Education.

Kansas Teen Online Drivers Ed

Covers Road Rules And Signs.

Get you licesne fast, easy, and online.

  • Study all online - anywhere, anytime!
  • Easy and fun interactive lessons
  • KS DMV-approved course

Powered by CyberActive

Kansas Instruction Permit Restrictions

Holders of an instruction permit for driving must adhere to the primary restriction, regardless of age. A learner driver must be accompanied by a licensed driver in the front passenger seat who is at least 21 years of age.

Note: Beginning at 15 years of age, applicants who complete an accredited driver's ed course can obtain a restricted drivers license.

Kansas Restricted Licenses

The second phase of the graduated drivers license program is the restricted, or provisional drivers license. Learners who are at least 15 years of age but not older than 17 years of age are eligible to apply for a restricted provisional driving license.

The Kansas provisional license requirements are different based upon the applicant's age.

Applicants between 15 and 16 years of age:

  • You must have held a DMV learners permit for at least one year.
  • You must get signed parental consent.
  • You must have completed an accredited driver's education course.
  • You must have completed at least 25 hours of driving.

Applicants between 16 and 17 years of age:

  • You must have held a learners permit for at least one year.
  • You must pass the written and road tests - or present a certificate of completion from a driver training course.
  • You must have completed 50 hours of driving, including 10 nighttime driving hours.

Learners who meet all the provisional license application requirements may apply at a KS DOR station. Applicants will need to provide proof of identification documents and submit to a vision screening.

KS Restricted License Driving Restrictions

The Kansas restricted drivers license is a provisional license. Therefore, restrictions are imposed on when and with whom the driver may operate a vehicle. The following restrictions are in place for DMV restricted license holders in Kansas.

Drivers 15 to 16 years of age:

  • They may drive to or from their place of employment.
  • They may drive to or from school when school is in session, using the most direct route.
  • They may drive without time or location restrictions when accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age.
  • They cannot operate a wireless device while driving, except in emergency situations.

Drivers 16 to 17 years of age:

  • They may drive between the hours of 5 a.m. and 9 p.m.
  • They may drive to and from school, school-related activities, work or organized religious worship services.
  • They may drive anytime with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age in the front passenger seat.
  • They can only carry one minor passenger who is not a member of their immediate family.
  • They cannot operate a wireless device while driving, except in emergency situations.

Replacing a KS Learners Permit

Drivers who have had their KS driving permit lost, stolen or destroyed must apply for a DMV permit replacement at a Kansas DOR driving license station. A stolen learning permit may be reported to the local authorities to help protect the driver's identity. For specific instructions on how to replace learners permits, click here.

Locate a Kansas DMV

To find a KS DOR location, click here. You will also find specific details, such as the telephone number, street address and hours of operation for each Kansas County Treasurer's office, on our locations page.