What are Illinois drivers education courses?
An Illinois drivers ed course is mandatory for all first-time drivers under the age of 18, who want to obtain a driver's license issued by the Illinois Secretary of State Facility. Drivers ed in Illinois covers alcohol safety, drug abuse awareness, aggressive driving and more. To increase driver's safety on the roads of Illinois, the IL SOS has introduced mandatory high school driving education.
Benefits of Taking Illinois Drivers Education Courses
Completing an IL drivers ed program may benefit you in the following ways:
- First-time drivers will be issued an IL driver's license.
- Drivers may receive a discount on their car insurance.
- Drivers may be granted a point reduction on their driving record.
About Illinois Drivers Education Courses
Illinois drivers education courses are available to residents who are 15 years of age or older. The IL drivers ed program provides information such as safe driving skills and important road rules that residents must be familiar with to earn a drivers license. Drivers ed classes are offered by public high schools throughout the state, as well as by third-party providers.
What you will learn taking an Illinois drivers ed class?
Drivers education courses approved by the Illinois Secretary of State Facility serve to help new drivers improve their overall driving skills that they will need in order to pass their DMV driving test. Drivers ed classes in Illinois are offered in person at public high schools, through private drivers ed schools and as a more convenient option, online. Any state-approved drivers ed course you decide to take will all cover the same topics, such as:
- Defensive driving skills.
- How to safety operate a vehicle.
- Illinois traffic laws.
- Road rules.
Illinois Drivers Education Course Insurance Discounts
First-time drivers who attend drivers ed in Illinois may be granted a discount on their auto insurance, depending on their insurance provider. First-time drivers usually face higher insurance premiums and can benefit greatly by attending a drivers ed course, which may result in a car insurance discount. To find out if you are eligible to receive a discount, contact your insurance provider and present your case.
Did you know? To reduce points on your Illinois driving record, drivers also have the option to take our state-approved defensive driving course.
Enrolling in Illinois Drivers Education Courses
How to Enroll in IL Drivers Ed
To enroll in drivers ed in Illinois, drivers can contact their local DMV or a third-party drivers ed school that is approved by the state. An online drivers education course is also available for first time drivers. You are required to complete an IL drivers education class if you are applying for your first IL driver's license. The IL SOS also requires high school students to participate in a driving education program.
To enroll in an Illinois-approved Driver's Ed course, you must be 15 years old.
Online Drivers Education vs. in Person
Illinois drivers education courses are available both in person and online. In-person drivers ed classes are offered by public high schools and private third-party providers. An online Illinois drivers ed course is made up of the same topics you will learn when taking a drivers education course in person. The program consists of 30 hours of in-classroom instruction and no less than six hours of "behind-the-wheel" instruction.
Cost of Driver's Ed
The cost of driver's education in Illinois varies, depending on which public or private drivers ed school you choose to attend. To find out the exact costs, contact the school of your choosing, or if you are interested in taking a driving course online, click here.
IL Drivers Education Requirements
To apply for a driver's license in Illinois, applicants who are younger than the age of 21 will be required to complete a drivers education program approved by the state. Additionally, applicants must meet 30 hours of classroom instruction and six hours of "behind-the-wheel" instruction. This course can be taken through public or private drivers ed schools in Illinois, as well as online.
Drivers Ed Certificates
To receive a driver's ed certificate, first-time drivers must successfully complete an Illinois drivers ed course. Submit this certificate to a local IL DMV office in order to be eligible to take the written exam and obtain an IL drivers license. Residents must attend a state-approved drivers ed program to receive a valid certificate of completion.
Drivers Ed Eligibility
Drivers ed eligibility in Illinois varies depending on your specific situation. The IL SOS requires all drivers' license applicants who are between the ages of 18 to 20 to complete a drivers education program approved by the state. High school students between the ages of 15 to 17 are required to be enrolled in an approved drivers education class provided by their school.
Types of Drivers Education Courses Offered in Illinois
The IL SOS offers a drivers education course that consists of the following:
- 30 hours in-classroom instruction
- Six hours of "behind-the-wheel" instruction
Where do I find a Illinois-approved drivers education course?
Drivers can find Illinois-approved drivers education courses online, or by visiting an IL DMV office to obtain more information. Applicants can also contact private third-party drivers education providers to enroll for classes within the state.
Driver's Ed and Point Reduction
Does a driver's education course remove a ticket?
By taking a driver's education course in Illinois, you will not be able to remove a ticket. Attending traffic school however, and depending on your specific situation, an Illinois defensive driver course may remove a recent traffic violation you have been convicted of from your driving record.
How many times can I take a traffic school course or driver's ed course?
To find how many times you can take an IL traffic school course or a drivers ed course, contact your local IL SOS office.
Does a ticket still have to be paid after taking a drivers education course?
A driver's ed class in Illinois, you will affect a traffic ticket. Enrolling in traffic school, and depending on your traffic violation, you may or may not be required to pay a traffic ticket after successfully completing traffic school with the IL DMV.
DUIs and Traffic School
If you have been convicted of an alcohol- or drug-related traffic violation in Illinois, you may be required to complete an alcohol/drug evaluation and an alcohol/drug remedial education course or substance abuse treatment program before your driving privileges can be reinstated. For more information about how traffic school and what courses to take, click here.