Dealing with vehicle registration and titling issues is a pain in the neck. DMV.com has aggregated some of the best information regarding how to deal with these issues to make your life a little less stressful. Below are a number of articles that deal with a wide range of registration and titling issues that may face.
Tips and best practices for purchasing or selling a car, truck or motorcycle in Georgia
Most new boats must be registered through the Wildlife Resources Division of the Georgia Department of Natural Resources before they can be sailed.
VESSELS THAT REQUIRE REGISTRATION
- Any powerboat
- Sailboats longer than 12 feet
VESSELS THAT DO NOT REQUIRE REGISTRATION
- Sailboats less than 12 feet in length
- Any boat that is propelled only by oars or paddles like canoes, rowboats, or kayaks
- Boats registered in another state, if they will not be used for more than 60 days in Georgia
- Boats that will be exclusively operated in private ponds.
The following counties require all cars and trucks powered by gasoline to undergo emission checks before being issued vehicle licence plates:
==VEHICLES EXEMPT FROM AN EMISSIONS TEST==
Vehicles exempt from emission tests include motorcycles, motor homes and RVs.
In case your vehicle fails the emission test, you will need to make repairs and get the vehicle retested within 30 days of the first test.
How To Renew A Georgia Car Registration
Car owners can renew car registration in Georgia via the following methods: online, in person and by mail. While county tag offices throughout the state offer the option of renewing car registrations with a paper application, certain locations do not provide an online alternative. During the GA vehicle registration renewal process, applicants will be required to complete several steps, such as:
Georgia law requires that motor vehicle owners must register their vehicle with the Georgia Department of Driver Services before taking it on the road. Both new and second-hand vehicles must be registered, regardless of whether they are purchased from a dealer or an individual. In addition, new Georgia residents who have registered their vehicle in another state must register their vehicle in Georgia.
You may apply for a duplicate vehicle title if your original title is lost, stolen, or damaged.
You may apply for a duplicate vehicle title if your original title is lost, stolen, or damaged. A vehicle with a missing title cannot be bought or sold, so owners must apply for and obtain a replacement before they can sell their vehicle.
If your vehicle’s [[/ga/georgia/vehicle-registration|registration]] card, [[/ga/georgia/license-plates|license plate(s)]] or stickers are lost, stolen, or damaged, you may apply for a replacement with the tax commissioner’s office of Georgia Department of Revenue.
Like most other motor vehicles, custom-built and antique vehicles must be properly registered and titled in the state of Georgia. However, the process of registering an antique or custom-built vehicle is different from [[/ga/georgia/vehicle-registration|registering a regular vehicle]].
If you are a Georgia resident and have changed addresses or plan to do so in the near future, you must have the address information updated on your license, vehicle registration and title certificate. You are also required to notify your insurance provider of your new address.
==REPORTING A CHANGE OF ADDRESS TO THE DEPARTMENT OF DRIVER SERVICES==
==LOST OR STOLEN LICENSE PLATES==
As soon as license plates are lost, stolen or illegible they must be replaced.
LOST OR STOLEN LICENSE PLATES
As soon as license plates are lost, stolen or illegible they must be replaced. If BOTH personalized plates are stolen/lost they must be replaced with a new plate – duplicates will not be made.
In order to replace your plates you must:
When owning and operating a vehicle it is very important to have some form of insurance in case of damage/injury to your vehicle, you or others during a collision. Accidents are unpredictable and that is why it is necessary to purchase the proper insurance and coverage for you and your vehicle.
A certificate of title issued by the state of Georgia is a document that proves legal ownership of a vehicle. A title must be obtained when an individual purchases a new vehicle. A title transfer must also be completed when a used vehicle is sold or gifted, or when a vehicle changes hands as a result of the death of the vehicle’s owner.
If you renew your license plate stickers in person, you’ll get them at the [[/ga/georgia/dds-location-hours|Georgia DMV office]]. If you apply online or by mail, you’ll receive your registration stickers in the mail. If renewed online, you will get them in five days. Be sure to follow the directions of application, so they won’t fall off or get stolen easily.