Florida Defensive Driving Course
Traffic school in Florida serves to help drivers improve their driving skills. Depending on your situation, you may be required to take DMV defensive driving courses, or you may voluntarily choose to attend traffic school. There are various traffic school options. Read below to find the one that is right for you:
Traffic school online options are available to drivers in Florida who wish to maximize convenience and fulfill state requirements. Online driving courses can be used to dismiss traffic tickets, fulfill court orders and reduce car insurance premiums. To enroll in traffic school, keep in mind the following requirements:
- You may need the name of the county where you received your citation.
- You may need the citation number or court case number.
- The shortest course allowed by law is 4 hours.
- You can only take a driver improvement course once every 12 months.
- You can only take a driver improvement class 5 times in your lifetime.
DMV.com’s trusted partner for online traffic school is approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. Your certificate of completion will be sent directly to you, and the FLHSMV will be notified electronically. After enrolling in one of our recommended courses, you will be able to enjoy all of the advantages of traditional driving school on your own schedule and on any computer or mobile device.
2. Traditional In-Person Courses:
If you cannot enroll in a digital driving course, traditional traffic classes with instructors are also available through various in-person providers. However, these driving classes are only offered at approved locations within Florida and may not be offered near your residence. Furthermore, scheduling for in-person traffic school is inflexible, and drivers are expected to attend classes no matter how inconvenient the time or location.
Driver improvement programs, also known as traffic school and defensive driving, are approved and regulated by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FDHSMV). Florida drivers who want to take a traffic school course to dismiss a ticket, or receive an auto insurance reduction, have the option of completing a Florida DMV approved traffic school course online.
Benefits of Defensive Driving Courses in Florida
Traffic schools in Florida can benefit drivers in many ways, including by helping residents:
- Receive a learner’s permit or a hardship license.
- Avoid being issued a driver’s license suspension.
- Prevent points from accumulating on their Florida driving record.
- Reinstate driving privileges.
- Receive discounts on vehicle insurance policies.
What defensive driving courses are offered in Florida?
The different driver improvement courses offered by the FLHSMV include:
- 3-in-3 Driver Change Course: Required for drivers who are convicted of three traffic offenses that have led to an automobile accident within 36 months. The components of this course include behind-the-wheel training and a driving assessment. Drivers who are required to participate in this program must complete a 12-hour advanced driver improvement course, as well as four hours of behind-the-wheel training with a Florida commercial driving school. At the conclusion of the course, you must pass the extended road test at a DMV office that offers driver’s license services.
- Advanced Driver Improvement Course (ADI): ADI is a traffic course for drivers who have a suspended drivers license due to the accumulation of points or due to being a habitual traffic offender.
- Basic Driver Improvement/Collision Avoidance Course (BDI): A four-hour course taken to dismiss traffic tickets or to qualify for a discount on an insurance premium.
- DUI Programs: Driver improvement programs for operators convicted of driving under the influence.
- Mature Driver/Insurance Discount: Courses designated for senior drivers who want a discount on their insurance coverage.
DMV.com offers several defensive driving courses you can choose from. Enrolling in traffic school may not only decrease the amount of points you have accumulated on your driving record, but it can also dismiss a traffic ticket and help you receive a discount on your car insurance.
Did you know? In 2014, a total of 106,802 car accidents were reported in the state of Florida. By attending traffic school, you can become a better driver and avoid becoming a part of this statistic.
Where to Take a Florida Driver Improvement Class/Traffic School
Traffic school and defensive driving courses are available all throughout the state of Florida and can be taken either online or in person at local schools. Depending on your situation, you may be required to take a defensive driving course to remove points from your driving record or enroll in a FL drivers ed class to apply for a learner’s permit.
Why do I need traffic school?
Participating in a Florida traffic school will not only help remove points or tickets from your driving record, but it can also help lower your auto insurance premiums. Completing defensive driving classes shows insurance companies that you are dedicated to practicing safe-driving habits.
Who can take a defensive driving course in Florida?
Any licensed driver who has received a citation or accumulated points on his or her record may enroll in a local FL defensive driving school. In Florida, resident drivers can take traffic classes to remove points or tickets from their records. DMV traffic school students may also complete defensive driving courses to help lower their car insurance premiums or increase their chances of obtaining a job as a commercial vehicle driver.
Dismissing Traffic Points
Enrolling in a DMV defensive driving course may allow drivers to have points reduced or removed from their driving record in Florida. Drivers who have been convicted of committing a traffic violation in FL may have points added to their driving record by the FLHSMV. Accumulating 12 points or more on your FL driver’s license will result in a suspension of your driving privileges.
FL Defensive Driving Insurance Discounts
Enrolling in a Florida defensive driving course may make you eligible to receive a car insurance discount. Traffic courses in FL that may result in lower auto insurance premiums include the basic driver improvement course. However, insurance discounts may only be granted to you at the discretion of insurance companies. The FLHSMV does not have any control over insurance premiums and may not issue you any discounts or rate reductions.
Did you know? Basic driver improvement is required for violations, such as:
- Passing a stopped school bus.
- Running a red light.
How to Enroll in an FL Defensive Driving Course
In order to enroll in a driver improvement course in Florida, drivers must inform the clerk of court in the county where they received their traffic citation that they would like to participate in a driver safety program and pay the required fee.
Online Florida Defensive Driving Courses vs. in Person
Safe driving courses in Florida are offered both online and in person. The FLHSMV will require you to complete the advanced driver improvement course if you:
- Have committed multiple traffic violations.
- Are under a driving license suspension.
- Have a court order.
Cost of Traffic School in Florida
Cost for driver safety training courses in Florida ranges from $22 to $45. If you enroll in a defensive driving class but fail to attend at the specified time of the traffic course, the court will assume that you have admitted to the violation and are pleading guilty. You will then be required to pay the clerk of the court a $10 processing fee, a $16 late fee and the amount deducted because you initially elected to attend a driving school.
Florida Defensive Driving Course Eligibility
Eligibility to enroll in an aggressive driving course in Florida is granted to any driver who has been charged with a moving or non-moving traffic violation and has had points added to their driving record. As America’s #1 online driving school, iDriveSafely.com is approved by the Florida DHSMV. By taking the 4-hour, 8-hour, or 12-hour course, you can fulfill your court order and may even be eligible to earn an insurance discount. Only $5.94 plus a mandatory $19.95 state reporting fee, traffic school at iDriveSafely comes with a fast, free certificate delivery and a money-back guarantee.
On the other hand, there are also motorists who are not eligible to enroll in these types of programs. These drivers include:
- Criminal violators.
- Drivers with a commercial driver’s license.
Defensive Driving Course Certificate
After completing a Florida defensive driving class, you will receive credit with your course provider. You proof of completion must be transmitted electronically from your course provider to the FL Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. Paper certificates are not accepted by the department.
Does a Florida defensive driving school course remove a ticket or reduce points?
Yes, a Florida defensive driving course may remove a recent traffic violation you have been convicted of from your driving record within 30 days of your traffic citation.
How many times can I take a defensive driving course in Florida?
Drivers can choose to attend a driver improvement course in FL once every 12 months but no more than five times in a lifetime.
Does a ticket still have to be paid after taking a defensive driving course?
Completing a driver safety program with the FLHSMV may or may not require you to pay a traffic ticket depending on your violation.
Can I remove a parking ticket if I take a defensive driving course?
Attending a Florida defensive driving course may not remove a parking ticket. Only traffic tickets may be dismissed.
DUIs and FL Defensive Driving School
Standard defensive driving school programs may not be used to reinstate a license suspended for driving under the influence. However, DUI-specific programs in Florida are run by private and non-profit organizations, which provide education for DUI offenders to satisfy judicial and driver licensing requirements. The following two educational services are offered in FL:
- Level 1 program for first-time offenders.
- Level 2 program for multiple offenders.
The Level 1 course consists of a minimum of 12 hours of classroom time and includes interactive educational techniques. The Level 2 course is a minimum of 21 hours of classroom time and includes more group-related activities.