At DMV.com our mission is to save you time and headaches with easy guides, articles and online resources to get you on the road. Instead of wasting your time at a Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles office you can get what you need online.
Each of our resources and guides is well researched and written - we do the work so that you don't have to. We cover topics including driving licenses, vehicle registrations, auto insurance, driver records and all the other things you normally bring you to the DMV.
Since DMV.com is a third party website that is not affiliated with the Florida government we can cut out the bureaucracy and make things simple and headache free. This site is full of helpful information and we encourage all our users to take part: Contribute and comment on our pages or to our Facebook account. We love to hear from you.
However, the state encourages drivers to help lower air pollution by using vehicles classified by the EPA as ILEVs or Inherently Low Emission Vehicles.
The fees are $5 for an annual decal, $10 for a biennial decal, and a $.75 mail fee for either decal, if applicable. The decal expires on your date of birth and must be renewed annually or biennially.
As soon as license plates are lost, stolen or illegible they must be replaced.
To be able to legally drive throughout Florida roads and highways, all drivers must have valid license plates, vehicle decals and car registrations from the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV). If at any point in time, any of the three car registration items are lost, stolen or damaged, you must immediately apply for duplicate car registration credentials.
In Florida, you must get car registrations for vehicles that will be driven on state roadways. In fact, it is illegal to drive a car without proper vehicle registration. If you have recently bought or were a gifted an automobile, RV or motorcycle, take some time to review the necessary steps to get car registration in Florida. Keep in mind that with your new FL car registration, you will also be required to apply for a new car title.
All Florida drivers are responsible for staying on top of their car registration renewal. If you don't renew your auto registration on time, you may be subject to penalties and extra fees. Driving without valid registration is illegal, and if you're caught driving with an expired registration in Florida, you will be faced with a substantial fine. To prevent any of these situations, you should know: