DMV.com is a privately owned website.* Privacy

Applying for a Connecticut New Driver’s License – Under 18

DMV Practice Test Only $14.99

  • Get the Official DMV.com Study Guide.
  • BONUS - FREE access to the Road Signs Practice Test

Connecticut learners permits are required of each drivers license applicant, regardless of age. For beginner drivers younger than 18 years of age, getting learners permits requires taking a written test, completing the safe driving course and completing the minimum hours of driver training. Teen drivers must abide by certain restrictions in order to maintain their driving privileges. Driving license restrictions include the time of day a teen can drive and the type of passengers the teen can carry.

Did you know? New drivers are 5x more likely to pass the written drivers test after taking our online practice driving test. Get prepared for the Connecticut DMV license knowledge test.

How to Apply for a Connecticut Learner's Permit:

  • Be at least 16 years of age.
  • Get signed parental consent if younger than 18 years of age.
  • Present the required documentation.
  • Pass a vision test.
  • Pass the knowledge test.
  • Pay the DMV learners permit fee.

Applying for a CT Learner's Permit

Prior to applying for drivers licenses, Connecticut first-time drivers are required to obtain a drivers permit, regardless of age. Residents can apply for a CT permit for driving if they are 16 years of age or older, pass the written knowledge test and provide the required identification documents.

What is the Graduate Driver Licensing Program in Connecticut?

Connecticut first-time driving license applicants who are 16 or 17 years of age are subject to the rules of the state's Graduated Driver Licensing Law. The law restricts minor learners permit holders from carrying passengers while operating a motor vehicle, with the exception of:

  • A licensed driving instructor.
  • A licensed parent.
  • A supervising driver who is 20 years of age or older and has held a DMV drivers license for at least four years.

To qualify for a drivers license in CT, minor learning permit holders must meet the following requirements:

  • Hold a learners permit for at least 120 days if enrolled in a driving school, or for 180 days if taught at home.
  • Complete 30 classroom hours and 40 hours of behind-the-wheel driver's ed.
  • Have your parents complete a two-hour training course.
  • Pass a DMV road test.

How to Get a CT Learners Permit

Learners Permit Requirements in Connecticut

The requirements to get learners permits in Connecticut are as follows:

  • Be at least 16 years of age.
  • Provide the required documentation, including a Certificate of Parental Consent if the applicant is younger than 18 years of age and a parent is not present.
  • Pass the vision screening.
  • Pass the knowledge test.
  • Pay the driving permit fee.

Preparing for a Connecticut DMV Written Exam

Connecticut driving permit applicants must complete a knowledge exam to qualify for licensure. The knowledge test consists of 25 multiple-choice questions, and it measures a learner's knowledge of the road rules contained in the Connecticut Driver's Manual. Learning permit applicants must answer at least 20 questions correctly to receive a passing score.

Increase your chances of passing the written drivers test on the first try by participating in a pretest. Our driving permit practice test contains questions based on the real Connecticut knowledge test, so you can be sure that you are getting a preview of what you will see on test day.

DMV learning permit applicants must schedule a test appointment with their local DMV office. Click here to find the location of a DMV office near you.

Be Prepared! Study with our DMV practice test and we guarantee you'll pass!

CT Drivers Education

All Connecticut drivers license applicants must complete some type of drivers ed. Adult drivers must take the eight-hour Safe Driving Practices class prior to getting drivers licenses. DMV permit holders who are 16 to 17 years of age must complete a behind-the-wheel driver training program to qualify for a license to drive. The required behind-the-wheel training program may be completed in one of the following ways:

  • Commercial driving school.
  • Secondary school program.
  • Home training program in conjunction with the eight-hour Safe Driving Practices course and two hours of parent training .

The two-hour parent training course is offered at commercial driving schools and high schools located throughout the state.

Connecticut Teen Online Drivers Ed

Covers Road Rules And Signs.

Get you licesne fast, easy, and online.

  • Study all online - anywhere, anytime!
  • Easy and fun interactive lessons
  • CT DMV-approved course

Powered by CyberActive

Connecticut Learners Permit Restrictions

All learning permit holders must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 20 years of age when operating an automobile. Furthermore, learners younger than 18 years of age may only be accompanied by a supervised driver who is at least 20 years of age and has been licensed for four consecutive years or more.

Replacing a CT Learners Permit

To replace learners permits, visit a nearby Connecticut DMV or AAA office. Drivers who have had their permit for driving lost, stolen or destroyed need to present the required documentation and pay the applicable fee in order to obtain a duplicate permit. For more information on how to replace learners permits, click here.

Locate a Connecticut DMV

Discover Connecticut DMV office locations by viewing a listing provided for your convenience. Users will also be able to access contact information for CT AAA offices. Get the street address and telephone number of a nearby office to assist you in making a DMV appointment for the service you require.