Find out more about Illinois DMV and save time when dealing with driving and licensing issues. Our site will provide you with all the info you need regarding those issues in its easy-to-understand articles, such as:
How to navigate around the site? Just type the desired info into the "search" feature, or use the navigation sections. Motorcycle and boat owners can also find out all about the special requirements for vehicle registration and more on our site.
Our readers can also help us by contributing to the site with their edits and comments, so we can offer the most up-to-date information on the Illinois VSD. Also, see our Facebook page and join us there.
This site is dedicated to helping Illinois drivers to solve their driving issues faster. The website is a privately owned and is not affiliated with any government agency.
If you are moving to another state, you will likely need to transfer the title of your vehicle. It will be the same situation if you are selling/buying a vehicle to an individual in another state.To find information on transfer of ownership within a single state click here.
The state to state title transfer process is different in each state.
Illinois requires a Boater Education Card for boaters, and not a boating license. The regulatory authority for the card is Illinois Department of Natural Resources (DNR). The card is mandatory for all boat operators 12 years and older.
There is a restriction on the age of boat operators. You cannot operate any vessel is you are less than 10 years old.
Citations or traffic tickets are issued in the State of Illinois for various violations of traffic law. Citations generally indicate the statute or code number of the violation, and explain how and when to pay the fine or respond to the ticket. You must respond to a citation, usually by paying a fine or appearing in court, or else a warrant may be issued for your arrest and your driving license may be suspended.
Most traffic tickets in Illinois are issued for what are sometimes called "strict-liability" offenses.
Like most other motor vehicles, custom-built and antique vehicles must be properly registered and titled in the state of Illinois. However, the process of registering an antique or custom-built vehicle is different from registering a regular vehicle.
Illinois law requires that motor vehicle owners register their vehicle with the Illinois Vehicle Services Department before taking it on the road. Both new and second-hand vehicles must be registered, regardless of whether they are purchased from a dealer or an individual. In addition, new Illinois residents who have registered their vehicle in another state must register their vehicle in Illinois. The initial vehicle registration must be done in person, and registration renewals must be done annually and either in person, online, by mail, or telephone.