- Court ordered traffic school
- Traffic ticket dismissal
- Insurance reductions
GoToTrafficSchool.com is a 3rd party company that sponsors this ad for traffic school services. This service is not affiliated with any government agencies and is not endorsed by any government agency or DMV.com. To read more about this company and it's services visit www.gototrafficschool.com
DMV.com is a privately owned guide for motor vehicle information and is not affiliated with any government agencies. DMV.com does not endorse or gaurantee any sponsored or partner products listed on this site. In using DMV.com you agree to the Terms and Conditions of this site
By clicking on this ad you will leave DMV.com.
If you would like more information about advertising on DMV.com please go to www.dmv.com/contact/advertise. If you have any feedback or questions about the use of this site please go to www.dmv.com/contact/advertise
Traffic/Driving Schools in Iowa
In the state of Iowa, traffic schools are often referred to as âDriver Improvement Schools'. The reasons why people enroll in the Driver Improvement Schools are:
- After a traffic violation, the court will orders the driver to take a course at a traffic/driving school to improve their safe-driving skills.
- To receive insurance discounts.
- To improve and refresh driving skills of older drivers.
This program is designed to help you to learn defensive driving techniques that will make you a safer driver. The driver improvement school is offered at various locations in Iowa. If the course has been court-ordered, please ensure that the court will accept a certificate of completion from the course, before enrolling in a driver improvement course.
Any driver can enroll in a Driver Improvement School at any time to receive the following benefits:
- Insurance Benefits - some insurance companies may offer premium discounts. Please check with your insurance representative to see if you qualify for this discount.
- Older drivers can undergo the 55 Alive course or community college or AARP programs.
WHEN IS IT MANDATORY?
Either the court or the DOT (when notified by the courts) may order you to successfully complete an educational drinking driving course when you have been convicted of a DUI/DWI violation or a driver improvement school when you have been convicted of three moving violations in one year or violate speed limit by 25-29 miles. It is under the court's discretion as to whether or not you will be mandated to take one of these courses. You will have to finish the course in specified time and if it is NOT completed successfully you will not get the benefits. If under 18 years old, you must complete a Motorcycle Rider Education Program to be eligible for a Class M license. If you are under 18 and have one moving violation or you have contributed an accident you will have to attend the DRIVER IMPROVEMENT remedial driver improvement program
Depending on the location, the course costs can vary. Please contact individual providers for more details on individual pricing.
- If you are looking for information on how to get your license or permit, see Driver's Education.
- Please click on defensive driving schools for details about other safe driving courses.
- When studying for your driver's license/permit, use the driver's manual to help you learn about safe driving techniques and traffic laws.
- For more licensing and safe-driving information for beginning drivers, see learner's permits.
- Learn more about driver improvement schools.
- The DOT Office of Driver Services supplies a senior driver's workbook free of cost.